Chicken Satay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Mistake number 1: All Mine. I began to put this recipe together after seeing it had 4.5 out of 5 stars and before I read any of the reviews. Mistake number 2: Followed the recipe My husband stood behind me as I measured the lemon juice and soy sauce. He was saying...that's a LOT of sour and salty juice. Things started to go better after I added more peanut butter, more brown sugar....and then they really turned around when we agreed we were NOT going to add the chicken. Thanks to the November 2011 reviewer, we spared our chicken, too. My husband is going to make the standby chicken and black bean casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I thought this was just ok... It wasn't very flavorful, it was mostly just salty. We made honey-peanut sauce to go with it and that really saved the meal - I'm not sure we would have finished the chicken without the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Changed recipe up a little and it was pretty good. Doubled the peanut butter, a tbsp and a half of lemon juice, one tbsp of curry powder, and a extra tbsp on brown sugar did the trick. Marinated for the 2 hours and grilled.....Will make this again. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I doubled the peanut butter and added some ginger. This was way to salty for us, but i did like the flavor. Next time I think i will do half soy half water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
A little salty and I think thigh meat might have done a little better that breast meat. I halved the curry powder and doubled the peanut butter after reading some reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I did not attempt to make this recipes as written based on all the negative reviews so I simply used it as a base making it my goal to achieve a sweet & spicey peanutty flavor. I somewhat doubled the sauce and came up with the following recipe: 1/2 C. peanut butter, 1/2 C. Soy Sauce & 1/2 C. Water (I didn't have low sodium soy), 1/2 C. lemon juice (I didn't want the tang from the lemon I only wanted it to tenderize the chicken), 3 TBLS Brown Sugar for added sweetness, I left out the curry in favor of my kids and used 4 fresh garlic cloves plus a few shakes of garlic powder. I also added a few shakes of red pepper flakes. Believe me this did not smell great when i made the marinade but the end result was great and a nice change of pace for chicken. I served with rice and broccoli. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I am not sure I would even give this a three star, but I think that at the core it would have been a good recipe. I made true to the recipe and wish I had listened to other reviewers and cut down on the soy sauce. This was SOOO salty I almost couldn't finish it. However it smelled amazing which I was cooking it. I think just cut down on the soy and use a lower sodium soy sauce at that would help this alot. I will try again and update if it is any better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Really good recipe. Loved the tanginess of the lemon. I froze them on skewers and they thawed and cooked up just as good. Only problem is finding a good peanut sauce to go with it. I cooked these on skewers on a stove top grill. I love those grills, perfect for this kind of meal where you don't want to start up the whole BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I used the lemon juice instead of lime and after mixing it all together I found this maranade way too tangy. I tried adding double PB but it was still no good. I'm only rating this a 2 instead of 1 because I didn't bother to use this, it went down the drain, I didn't want to waste my chicken too. So I really never gave it a good chance. Good thing I bought the store maranade as back up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This was pretty good. It is a bit more Indian inspired that other chicken satays I have tasted. The curry flavor and color was kind of strong. Instead of the grill I just put them on a foil lined baking sheet in the broiler for 12 minutes turning every 3 minutes. Although, I think they would have been even better grilled. The other downside is I didn't think they tasted very great when heated up. The texture turned real rubbery and I am dependent on warmed up food. I think though this would be best eaten, when just made, with some rice and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 453) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

How to Make Chicken Satay

See how to make authentic Thai-style chicken satay.

Indonesian Satay

See how to make traditional Indonesian chicken satay and peanut dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States