Chicken Satay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
I marinated mine overnight. I did reduce the salt just because I don't care for my things too salty. Glad I did because even with 1/2 the salt, they were still a tad overpowering. Instead of hot sauce I used a little cayenne pepper. Also used hot curry powder and lime instead of lemon. They came out pretty good. Next time I will reduce the salt even more. I grilled them on the BBQ and served with sweet chili sauce and a Thai peanut sauce and some rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Made this twice. First time was exact to the recipe minus curry. ( I do not like it). Second I added more peanut butter, less soy sauce. My vote was the first by far!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This was good. I did follow other's suggestions. I doubled the peanut butter. I didn't have chunky, so I put 1/4 cup + 1 Tbs Skippy low fat creamy peanut butter. I also cut the curry to 1 1/2 Tbs. I think I will use the full 2 Tbs next time. I would make it again, but would definately marinade longer than 2 hours. I also made 1/2 chicken and 1/2 beef (top round steaks cut into strips). My family liked the beef better. My picky four year old loved the "beef on a stick".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Called it peanut butter chicken on a stick and my kids ate it right up. I didn't use the hot sauce (because of the kids). I only marinated it for 30 minutes and then I basted the chicken with some remaining marinade and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Loved it. Easy to make. I did not find it too salty or too lemony at all. Marinated it for only 2 hrs, as that is all the time I had. Thanks for such an easy tasty meal Brownyn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Way too salty! I tasted the marinade before I placed the chicken in and it was much too salty. I added more brown sugar and peanut butter until it was passable. Let it marinate overnight and BBQ'd the next day. Still too much salt. If I make it again, I will start with 1/2 the curry (which I love the taste of) and use low sodium soy sauce. Then I'll taste it and go from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
It was a little to salty, and I only marinaded for an hour at most. So next time I will be using less soy sauce. But other than that, it was really good. I also broiled it in the oven instead of grilling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Very good but I would have to be in the mood to eat this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I made this exactly as written for company and it was very well received. I do think it was too salty, but perhaps that is because I marinated the meat overnight (15 hours). Next time, I'll try less time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This was very easy to cook and came out good with the peanut sauce and rice I made to go along with it, but the lemon juice was quite overpowering for my tastes. I will be making it again sometime in the future, but I think I'll cut down on the salt and lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 447) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

How to Make Chicken Satay

See how to make authentic Thai-style chicken satay.

Indonesian Satay

See how to make traditional Indonesian chicken satay and peanut dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States