Chicken Satay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Great easy recipe. Omitted the curry and added more peanut butter and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
This was delectable! I actually had it marinating for 2 days (ended up not cooking the next day as planned) and I was worried it might not help it out. BUT...this recipe was perfect..just the right amount of zip, and it took just a few minutes on the grill to cook. A keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDY KENNEDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bow Island, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
this was good. however, is it possible to marinate something too long? I marinated this overnight and then all day, until dinner time. I used half low-sodium soy and half tamari. it was very salty and lime-y. I might try again with only marinating from morning until dinner to see if I enjoy the results better. I followed the recipe with the suggested changes of halving the curry powder and increasing the peanut butter. the texture was great though, very tender. I sauteed the chicken on the stove top with a little bit of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Immediate family favorite! After marinating, I dump the chicken and marinade in the skillet for 15-20 minutes and then serve it over rice. A lot less work than the skewers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
VERY GOOD base to work from. Soaked the chicken in lime/soy/garlic mixture then made the sauce (items from original recipe plus a T of fish sauce and sub'd green curry paste for the curry) seperate for dipping when finished. Soaked the skewers in soy sauce/warm water combo to add just a touch more flavor. Served w/ rice and veggie stir-fry to complete meal. I know some people can't stand when someone comes in a totally alters the recipe but hey I am known to be an alterer ;o) Thank you for the recipe. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSIMOOS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newtown Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Very good. The chicken was really tender and kept the marinade flavour though grilling. I marinated overnight which I like to do as it leaves little prep for next day's meal. I can see how some may think there is too much curry but personally I found the balance to be fine. There are many curries, some stronger tasting than others. I served this with plain rice, fasoliyyeh bi z-z (Syrian green beans) from this site and The best Thai peanut sauce also from this site. Wow I really had an AR meal tonight. Thanks for an enjoyable dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
I marinated mine overnight. I did reduce the salt just because I don't care for my things too salty. Glad I did because even with 1/2 the salt, they were still a tad overpowering. Instead of hot sauce I used a little cayenne pepper. Also used hot curry powder and lime instead of lemon. They came out pretty good. Next time I will reduce the salt even more. I grilled them on the BBQ and served with sweet chili sauce and a Thai peanut sauce and some rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Made this twice. First time was exact to the recipe minus curry. ( I do not like it). Second I added more peanut butter, less soy sauce. My vote was the first by far!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This was good. I did follow other's suggestions. I doubled the peanut butter. I didn't have chunky, so I put 1/4 cup + 1 Tbs Skippy low fat creamy peanut butter. I also cut the curry to 1 1/2 Tbs. I think I will use the full 2 Tbs next time. I would make it again, but would definately marinade longer than 2 hours. I also made 1/2 chicken and 1/2 beef (top round steaks cut into strips). My family liked the beef better. My picky four year old loved the "beef on a stick".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Called it peanut butter chicken on a stick and my kids ate it right up. I didn't use the hot sauce (because of the kids). I only marinated it for 30 minutes and then I basted the chicken with some remaining marinade and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 443) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Satay

See how to make authentic Thai-style chicken satay.

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States