Chicken Satay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
not bad after you do some tweaking. i added more water to get a consistency I liked. i also added soy sauce, fish sauce, onion powder, more garlic, and a little more lemon. i tossed the chicken in fish sauce and soy sauce before i placed it under the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
Wow, this was the most satisfying meal I have had in my 1st week on the SB Diet. It is a good basic recipe that was great with a few additions. I marinated in soy & fish sauce with turmeric and ginger. I added fish sauce to the peanut sauce and instead of water I thinned it with chicken broth that had a little thai red curry paste mixed in. I grilled fresh vegies along side the chicken and dipped it all in the sauce! Super Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
I really enjoyed this recipe. I made mine into a stir fry and added the sauce to it. I added more soy sauce and more water. I do not like sugar replacement so I added just a touch of honey. I also used zucchini, onions, spinach, crushed red pepper flakes and spicy peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
This was an ok recipe. I sauteed the chicken in the soy sauce instead of rubbing the chicken with it. Like others, I doubled the water and added a little bit more soy suace to make the sauce a little thinner. After this it did taste JUST like the restaurant. BUT it tastes better with the REAL chicken satay, not so much with this. Give it try if you're looking for something different in the diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinaColada

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bar Harbor, Maine, USA
Living In: Kihei, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
This was great! I brushed the chicken with spicy Chinese mustard. It gave it a great kick and tasted great with the peanut sauce. By the way: follow the peanut sauce measurements. I tried to "eyeball" the recipe & had to start over on the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
A rather loose interpretation of the real thing, but edible. I might make it again, but I would modify the peanut sauce, perhaps by adding some fish sauce to make it taste more like thai.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Good flavor. We doubled the recipe and had it as a full meal with a small salad. The sauce recipe made more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Felt like I was eating chicken coated with peanut butter. Sauce to thick even with additional liquids. Not a favorite here, though we did have a few laughs over it. Don't think I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
The dipping sauce was okay but needed something... it tasted too much like straight-up peanut butter. I will try adding fish sauce, more soy, and more lemon juice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
Quite tasty! Had to add water to the peanut dipping sauce, it was very thick. Great appetizer or light dinner - will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States