Chicken Saltimbocca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
I sliced 2 breasts lengthways so I ended up with 4 pieces. I then wrapped the prosciutto around the breasts and cooked them in the fry pan. I added the wine and placed the cheese on top of the cooked chicken to melt. I tasted the sauce and there was something missing so I added a chopped clove of garlic and a tub of tomato paste - the result was outstanding! The sauce was wonderful over the chicken and if I had made extra would have been excellent over pasta. With this simple change this recipe is amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
My husband really liked it! I sauteed garlic in olive oil first and then I rolled the chicken breast with the prosciutto in the middle of it- then added 2 Tbsp. margarine and finally added the white wine.. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
I'd definitely make this again. I agree that the chicken breasts should be pounded for more uniform cooking and easier handling. I did rub them with a little sage before putting the ham on, as others have suggested, and used much less butter than 1/3 cup. 1 cup of wine turned out to be too much, though, probably because the pounded breasts cooked faster. I ended up pouring out some of the liquid before adding the cheese. Next time I will try using 1/2 the wine and add more if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Colmenarejo, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
I really like this recipe. I like to pound the chicken flat and add a little sage to the sauce after adding the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Birdman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
I loved this recipe! Its very elegant when finished. I agree that the chicken should be pounded first and use more wine. This was sooooo good and the flavor was incredible!!!!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
This was great, even if you're "off" a little with the ingredients, the taste is excellent and the chicken is moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
This dish has become something of a standard in my house -- it is easy to prepare, yet sophisticated enough to serve to guests. Excellent dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
simply delicious! the chicken was very moist! easy to prepare and flavorful -- the wine was a nice touch! the first time i made it, my boyfriend could not stop eating it. he ate 3 1/2 chicken breasts the first night! bravo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
Delicious. Easy. Chicken was juicy and tasty. Loved the ham. Perfect entree to serve guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
My husband is very skeptical when I try new recipes. He LOVED this one, and gave it five stars. So easy to prepare, I would do it on a work night. Serve with fresh green beans seasoned with white wine, garlic and lemon and a spinach salad. We decided the next time we want to go out to a nice restaurant, we'll just do this at home instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States