Chicken Saltimbocca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
As written, this would not have been very exciting. I've eaten this dish in restaurants so I knew what I was looking for. I seasoned the inside of the breasts before adding both ham and the cheese. Once rolled, I dredged in seasoned flour and browned in evoo and butter. I enjoy a sauce with my Saltimbocca, so I removed the chicken to a casserole dish, added flour to the pan to make a roux then added chicken broth, white wine and seasonings. I felt the chicken needed to tenderize and cook a bit more so I poured the sauce over the chicken and baked in the oven for about twenty minutes. Definitely a good start to what turned out to be a fabulous dish. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
I'm really rating my version of this recipe, because I think it would have been bland had I not made the following modifications: 1) I pounded out the chicken breasts 2) rubbed pressed garlic onto the breasts, then placed a layer of fresh, whole basil leaves and then the prosciutto on top and rolled up the chicken securing it with toothpicks. Also, after frying/browning the breasts I noticed my largest breast still wasn't done, so after I poured in the wine I covered it to steam a few minutes to help it finish cooking. I then removed the lid so the wine could evaporate. Anyway, the flavor was really amazing--very bold and fresh, and the garlic taste wasn't overwhelming at all (but then again, I'm a garlic lover). If you're like me and not keen on bland food, definately spice this recipe up a bit by seasoning the chicken before you cook it; especially since provolone is a very mild cheese, and once it's melted you can hardly taste it. I will for sure make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wayne, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
My husband really liked it! I sauteed garlic in olive oil first and then I rolled the chicken breast with the prosciutto in the middle of it- then added 2 Tbsp. margarine and finally added the white wine.. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I love chicken saltimbocca, but not the way this recipe is written. I filet the breast into 2 halves (otherwise it's too much chicken per roll). Roll from outside in - chicken, cheese (I like havarti or horseradish cheddar instead), prosciutto, herbs (sage or basil) - and secure the whole thing w/ a small bamboo skewer. [If prosciutto is on the outside it dries out too much, and the flavor gets lost, so all you can taste is salt.] Sprinkle each roll with olive oil, salt and pepper, and brown the chicken a bit before putting it in the oven to bake. It's the most amazing thing ever, even the leftovers taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
The first time I made this, I followed the recipe exactly and it was only alright. I made last night for a second time- changed a few things and it was great! I flattened the chicken and put pepper and italian herbs on it before adding it to the pan-- and I only used a little butter and olive oil instead of ALL the butter suggested. When the wine was almost all evaporated, I put the whole skillet under the broiler to gt some color on the cheese- then served it over a bed of fettucine alfredo-- grrrreat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VOODOOCHEESE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
Favorite recipe of the night! I cannot remember whether I poured the wine in the pan or not (may have drunk it instead), anyhow it didn't matter because it was delicious. I went ahead and flipped the chicken over onto the proscuitto side and let it cook. Didn't flatten the chicken breasts though next time I will. Let some olive oil heat up, then added a reduced amount of butter, then the chicken breasts, topped with a little ground sage. Finally, I used shredded mozzerella instead of provolone. I am looking forward to the leftovers today. I think they will be yummy as chicken sandwiches with a little dijon mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
I'd definitely make this again. I agree that the chicken breasts should be pounded for more uniform cooking and easier handling. I did rub them with a little sage before putting the ham on, as others have suggested, and used much less butter than 1/3 cup. 1 cup of wine turned out to be too much, though, probably because the pounded breasts cooked faster. I ended up pouring out some of the liquid before adding the cheese. Next time I will try using 1/2 the wine and add more if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Colmenarejo, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
A good start, but not so great without some extra work. First off I pounded the breast thin. Dredged them in seasoned flour, added garlic and mushrooms to the pan when I was frying and let them steam with the lid on once I added the wine. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
I sliced 2 breasts lengthways so I ended up with 4 pieces. I then wrapped the prosciutto around the breasts and cooked them in the fry pan. I added the wine and placed the cheese on top of the cooked chicken to melt. I tasted the sauce and there was something missing so I added a chopped clove of garlic and a tub of tomato paste - the result was outstanding! The sauce was wonderful over the chicken and if I had made extra would have been excellent over pasta. With this simple change this recipe is amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
Great recipe, I HIGHLY recommend doing this recipe, but when it is almost done creating a marsala sauce and then serving it all over angel hair pasta.. MMMMmmm Had it this way at a italian restaurant and it is SO yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States