Chicken Saltimbocca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
As written, this would not have been very exciting. I've eaten this dish in restaurants so I knew what I was looking for. I seasoned the inside of the breasts before adding both ham and the cheese. Once rolled, I dredged in seasoned flour and browned in evoo and butter. I enjoy a sauce with my Saltimbocca, so I removed the chicken to a casserole dish, added flour to the pan to make a roux then added chicken broth, white wine and seasonings. I felt the chicken needed to tenderize and cook a bit more so I poured the sauce over the chicken and baked in the oven for about twenty minutes. Definitely a good start to what turned out to be a fabulous dish. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
I'm really rating my version of this recipe, because I think it would have been bland had I not made the following modifications: 1) I pounded out the chicken breasts 2) rubbed pressed garlic onto the breasts, then placed a layer of fresh, whole basil leaves and then the prosciutto on top and rolled up the chicken securing it with toothpicks. Also, after frying/browning the breasts I noticed my largest breast still wasn't done, so after I poured in the wine I covered it to steam a few minutes to help it finish cooking. I then removed the lid so the wine could evaporate. Anyway, the flavor was really amazing--very bold and fresh, and the garlic taste wasn't overwhelming at all (but then again, I'm a garlic lover). If you're like me and not keen on bland food, definately spice this recipe up a bit by seasoning the chicken before you cook it; especially since provolone is a very mild cheese, and once it's melted you can hardly taste it. I will for sure make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wayne, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
My husband really liked it! I sauteed garlic in olive oil first and then I rolled the chicken breast with the prosciutto in the middle of it- then added 2 Tbsp. margarine and finally added the white wine.. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I love chicken saltimbocca, but not the way this recipe is written. I filet the breast into 2 halves (otherwise it's too much chicken per roll). Roll from outside in - chicken, cheese (I like havarti or horseradish cheddar instead), prosciutto, herbs (sage or basil) - and secure the whole thing w/ a small bamboo skewer. [If prosciutto is on the outside it dries out too much, and the flavor gets lost, so all you can taste is salt.] Sprinkle each roll with olive oil, salt and pepper, and brown the chicken a bit before putting it in the oven to bake. It's the most amazing thing ever, even the leftovers taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
The first time I made this, I followed the recipe exactly and it was only alright. I made last night for a second time- changed a few things and it was great! I flattened the chicken and put pepper and italian herbs on it before adding it to the pan-- and I only used a little butter and olive oil instead of ALL the butter suggested. When the wine was almost all evaporated, I put the whole skillet under the broiler to gt some color on the cheese- then served it over a bed of fettucine alfredo-- grrrreat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VOODOOCHEESE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
Favorite recipe of the night! I cannot remember whether I poured the wine in the pan or not (may have drunk it instead), anyhow it didn't matter because it was delicious. I went ahead and flipped the chicken over onto the proscuitto side and let it cook. Didn't flatten the chicken breasts though next time I will. Let some olive oil heat up, then added a reduced amount of butter, then the chicken breasts, topped with a little ground sage. Finally, I used shredded mozzerella instead of provolone. I am looking forward to the leftovers today. I think they will be yummy as chicken sandwiches with a little dijon mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
I'd definitely make this again. I agree that the chicken breasts should be pounded for more uniform cooking and easier handling. I did rub them with a little sage before putting the ham on, as others have suggested, and used much less butter than 1/3 cup. 1 cup of wine turned out to be too much, though, probably because the pounded breasts cooked faster. I ended up pouring out some of the liquid before adding the cheese. Next time I will try using 1/2 the wine and add more if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Colmenarejo, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
A good start, but not so great without some extra work. First off I pounded the breast thin. Dredged them in seasoned flour, added garlic and mushrooms to the pan when I was frying and let them steam with the lid on once I added the wine. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
I sliced 2 breasts lengthways so I ended up with 4 pieces. I then wrapped the prosciutto around the breasts and cooked them in the fry pan. I added the wine and placed the cheese on top of the cooked chicken to melt. I tasted the sauce and there was something missing so I added a chopped clove of garlic and a tub of tomato paste - the result was outstanding! The sauce was wonderful over the chicken and if I had made extra would have been excellent over pasta. With this simple change this recipe is amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
Great recipe, I HIGHLY recommend doing this recipe, but when it is almost done creating a marsala sauce and then serving it all over angel hair pasta.. MMMMmmm Had it this way at a italian restaurant and it is SO yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States