Chicken Saltimbocca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I made this for my boyfriend this past weekend and he really liked it. There seemed to be a lot of left over butter that I had to throw out before pouring in the wine though, so things got a little messy. I'll probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Absolutely delicious and very easy to make. My huband loved this dish, and I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCARLETT74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
As written, this would not have been very exciting. I've eaten this dish in restaurants so I knew what I was looking for. I seasoned the inside of the breasts before adding both ham and the cheese. Once rolled, I dredged in seasoned flour and browned in evoo and butter. I enjoy a sauce with my Saltimbocca, so I removed the chicken to a casserole dish, added flour to the pan to make a roux then added chicken broth, white wine and seasonings. I felt the chicken needed to tenderize and cook a bit more so I poured the sauce over the chicken and baked in the oven for about twenty minutes. Definitely a good start to what turned out to be a fabulous dish. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
I'm really rating my version of this recipe, because I think it would have been bland had I not made the following modifications: 1) I pounded out the chicken breasts 2) rubbed pressed garlic onto the breasts, then placed a layer of fresh, whole basil leaves and then the prosciutto on top and rolled up the chicken securing it with toothpicks. Also, after frying/browning the breasts I noticed my largest breast still wasn't done, so after I poured in the wine I covered it to steam a few minutes to help it finish cooking. I then removed the lid so the wine could evaporate. Anyway, the flavor was really amazing--very bold and fresh, and the garlic taste wasn't overwhelming at all (but then again, I'm a garlic lover). If you're like me and not keen on bland food, definately spice this recipe up a bit by seasoning the chicken before you cook it; especially since provolone is a very mild cheese, and once it's melted you can hardly taste it. I will for sure make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wayne, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Not hard to make. We loved this dish. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waxahachie, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Not all that or maybe I just don't know how to stirfry whole boneless chicken breast. Never heard of that before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
The first time I made this, I followed the recipe exactly and it was only alright. I made last night for a second time- changed a few things and it was great! I flattened the chicken and put pepper and italian herbs on it before adding it to the pan-- and I only used a little butter and olive oil instead of ALL the butter suggested. When the wine was almost all evaporated, I put the whole skillet under the broiler to gt some color on the cheese- then served it over a bed of fettucine alfredo-- grrrreat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VOODOOCHEESE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
Just eh. It was easy to make and enjoyable enough but I probably won't make it again. Didn't live up to what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
This recipe is absolutely SUPER & so easy to make!! I took the advice of some other reviewers and pounded the chicken breasts flat before frying...otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Even my 3 yr old ate this chicken and he doesn't like anything!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
Quite good- I also recommend pounding the chicken breasts and seasoning them before cooking. I used a sherry for the wine, recipe turned out very well and tastes great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States