Chicken Saltimbocca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I thought this was only okay. It was nothing special. I followed JCL's layering method. I think the provolone cheese was too mild for me; I wouldn't have even known the cheese was in there had I not been the one making this dish. I used fresh basil in the middle of each roll and also used a little chicken broth with the white wine. It wasn't a bad recipe or a waste of chicken, but I definitely won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seneca, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I love chicken saltimbocca, but not the way this recipe is written. I filet the breast into 2 halves (otherwise it's too much chicken per roll). Roll from outside in - chicken, cheese (I like havarti or horseradish cheddar instead), prosciutto, herbs (sage or basil) - and secure the whole thing w/ a small bamboo skewer. [If prosciutto is on the outside it dries out too much, and the flavor gets lost, so all you can taste is salt.] Sprinkle each roll with olive oil, salt and pepper, and brown the chicken a bit before putting it in the oven to bake. It's the most amazing thing ever, even the leftovers taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Tasted wonderful and best of all it was really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
Very tasty! A big hit with me and my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This was fantastic, but I did change it a little bit...I added some italian herbs, and some garlic powder. It was quick to make also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
This was good. I did dredge the chicken in seasoned flour before hand. I liked how it turned out. It didn't wow me, but I would make it again. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Easy recipe that makes a simple yet elegant meal. Used a Sauvignon Blanc wine and served it with Baked Tomatoes Oregana. Lit a candle, served the remainder of the wine--nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Just OK. I thought the simplicity of the ingredients would make for a very simple, outstanding flavor, but it was somewhat boring. I think I may try it again, but will add less wine, a little garlic and a few capers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
mmmm.mmmm.good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
I think there's too much butter and wine in the recipe, it will never evaporate using that much. I had to pour some out. Also I needed to increase the cooking time by a few mins, and it's important to note that you must flip it and cook the proscuitto side as well. That said, it was pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States