Chicken Saltimbocca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I thought this was only okay. It was nothing special. I followed JCL's layering method. I think the provolone cheese was too mild for me; I wouldn't have even known the cheese was in there had I not been the one making this dish. I used fresh basil in the middle of each roll and also used a little chicken broth with the white wine. It wasn't a bad recipe or a waste of chicken, but I definitely won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seneca, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I love chicken saltimbocca, but not the way this recipe is written. I filet the breast into 2 halves (otherwise it's too much chicken per roll). Roll from outside in - chicken, cheese (I like havarti or horseradish cheddar instead), prosciutto, herbs (sage or basil) - and secure the whole thing w/ a small bamboo skewer. [If prosciutto is on the outside it dries out too much, and the flavor gets lost, so all you can taste is salt.] Sprinkle each roll with olive oil, salt and pepper, and brown the chicken a bit before putting it in the oven to bake. It's the most amazing thing ever, even the leftovers taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Tasted wonderful and best of all it was really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
Very tasty! A big hit with me and my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This was fantastic, but I did change it a little bit...I added some italian herbs, and some garlic powder. It was quick to make also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
This was good. I did dredge the chicken in seasoned flour before hand. I liked how it turned out. It didn't wow me, but I would make it again. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Easy recipe that makes a simple yet elegant meal. Used a Sauvignon Blanc wine and served it with Baked Tomatoes Oregana. Lit a candle, served the remainder of the wine--nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Just OK. I thought the simplicity of the ingredients would make for a very simple, outstanding flavor, but it was somewhat boring. I think I may try it again, but will add less wine, a little garlic and a few capers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
mmmm.mmmm.good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
I think there's too much butter and wine in the recipe, it will never evaporate using that much. I had to pour some out. Also I needed to increase the cooking time by a few mins, and it's important to note that you must flip it and cook the proscuitto side as well. That said, it was pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States