Chicken Salad with Toasted Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2001
I found this recipe for a friend to take to a pot luck supper. She has just called to tell me that the chicken salad was a winner, rated the tastiest dish there! Now to dazzle my friends as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Zavadil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Excellent chicken salad. I made a couple of changes/additions. I didn't use lettuce, water chestnuts or lemon juice on the chicken. I did add green onions, swiss cheese & red grapes. Salad is best when it sits overnight. Don't add the almonds until you are ready to serve, it keeps them crunchy. Served on croissants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
Wonderful! I cut down on the fat by reducing the mayonnaise and almonds to 1/2 cup (1/2 cup of almonds was plenty!!). I also reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp. I didn't chill the chicken with lemon juice for 2 hours, and it was just fine. I think using red grapes next time would add a bit more color. I served the chicken salad on whole wheat pita bread. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
I've used this recipe for years, and it is always a favorite at any pot-luck I attend. This is my most requested recipe, you'll enjoy it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
I like pineapple but adding pineapple to this chicken salad just made the dish too sweet for my taste. I've enjoyed the addition of green or red grapes or mandarin oranges or dried cranberries to various chicken salad recipes though. Of course, if you like sweet salad, you'll love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2005
Love this salad... a great thing to make with leftover cooked chicken... will make again and again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
This was very good. I made it as stated, and found it needed a little kick; it was a bit bland. I added a bit of curry powder, and that helped. Next time, I'll add some tart dried cranberries as another reviewer mentioned. It needs some other seasoning besides the salt and white pepper, but I'm not sure what. But I will make it again, and recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
I loved it, and so did everyone I work with about 50 people. I added apples to this recipe and took out the salt and it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIEMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
I served this at a ladies luncheon and eveyrone loved it. The only changes I made, I left out the pineapple and added a touch of curry powder to the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
This chicken salad is terrific! I made it with pre-cooked Honey Roasted chicken tenders (too hot to cook, even grill), skipped the lemon juice and used red grapes because that was what I had on hand, but those were the only changes I made. My husband, who is not a huge fan of anything chicken, cleaned the bowl. HIGHLY recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mittens

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States