Chicken Salad with Toasted Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
A nice change from regular ole chicken salad. I was a little ify about the pineapple but everyone else thought it was a nice addition to the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Way, way, WAY too much mayonnaise in this recipe, and I think I made a mistake in using the pre-packaged, pre-cooked chicken. The dish was really salty. I added a lot of lemon juice and a lot more grapes (because I didn't want to use the pineapple), and I think it turned out just all right after that. I might add some celery ribs to the mix next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Delicious!!! My late stepmother used to make this and it was a family favorite. I never got the recipe from her and was excited to find that this is it! I used more grapes, doubled the water chestnuts, subbed fresh spinach for lettuce, and the next time I make it, I'll cut the amount of almonds in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
We really liked this, using red grapes & apples instead of water chestnuts. I also kicked up the flavor/seasoning value by using home-made ranch dressing instead of the mayo/miracle whip, but decreased the amount by 1/2. I served this with lettuce leaves on top, not in the mix. Used french rolls that I lightly toasted with butter & garlic. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I think this salad can be 4 stars, but I give three for the existing recipe. I do like the interesting combination of flavors. But I will make 2 changes next time: 1) Use way less Miracle Whip. I only used 1/2 cup and still thought it was too soggy. 2) Leave out the shredded lettuce. I guess this probably works okay if you eat the salad immediately, but if you make it the night before or keep it for leftovers the lettuce gets completely soggy and wilted. It would be better to just put a fresh piece of lettuce on top of the salad on your sandwich. I also substituted apple for the water chestnuts like some other reviewers and thought it worked well. A good base for a recipe I will make again - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
Very good, I changed the water chestnuts to apples and also used 1/4 cup less mayo,and used 1/4 rice vinegar in its place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Aurora, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
This was very good. I made it as stated, and found it needed a little kick; it was a bit bland. I added a bit of curry powder, and that helped. Next time, I'll add some tart dried cranberries as another reviewer mentioned. It needs some other seasoning besides the salt and white pepper, but I'm not sure what. But I will make it again, and recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
This chicken salad is terrific! I made it with pre-cooked Honey Roasted chicken tenders (too hot to cook, even grill), skipped the lemon juice and used red grapes because that was what I had on hand, but those were the only changes I made. My husband, who is not a huge fan of anything chicken, cleaned the bowl. HIGHLY recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mittens

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
I loved it, and so did everyone I work with about 50 people. I added apples to this recipe and took out the salt and it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIEMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
This salad is easy to make. My guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States