Chicken Salad in the Tropics Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Delish! This was a nice 'don't have to measure anything' recipe! All the flavors combined well. Left out the cheese, and used 'Light and Fresh Dressing' (from this website), since this one got mixed reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This was really good and so light and refreshing. I served it at a beach-themed bridal shower and it was very well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christy
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I thought the dressing for this salad was really gross, the sesame oil was WAY to overpowering, so i through out the dressing and completely started over, omiting the sesame oil, cutting the soy sauce in half, and also, leaving out the pepper, and even with that i still wasn't happy with the dressing. The salad was overall, just ok, nothing special, i would prefer a salad with ranch dressing and just some plain old grilled chicken over the top before i ate this one. BUT, my hubby loved it and scarfed it down, and finished mine, so i am giving it 3 stars, because i hated it and he loved it, so i found a happy medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2007
I love this recipe! I am not a big fan of sesime oil so I added a 1/4 cup more pineapple juice to the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
A great idea, just missing something. The dressing is very thin and just runs right to the bottom of the bowl, it doesn't seem to coat the greens at all. The combination of fruits and green pepper was wonderful though. I might try it again but with some changes to the dressing to thicken it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandiceSteele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Higashi-Omi, Shiga, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Weird. Just plain weird. The dressing seemed to lack something...and it had a lot of ingred's! Dunno. I'm into different tasting food, but this just lacked. Will try other ways to use mangoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
added pineapple, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
This is a visually attractive salad, perfect for ladies' luncheon. While we all liked the taste of the dressing, we thought it was too thin. Didn't coat the salad, which made it kind "drippy." Couldn't think of a way to thicken the dressing at the last minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
This was pretty good. I ended up adding more OJ to the dressing because the sesame oil was overpowering - I would cut the sesame oil in half next time. This probably won't become a dinner staple for us but it's good when you're looking for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
Very tasty! My husband who does not like salad dressing even enjoyed it. I spiced up the dressing a bit by adding a teaspoon of Sambol Olek and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States