Chicken Salad Al La Barbara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
nice light salad - perfect for summertime! Nice and filling with the chicken and pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Very good as a light meal on a hot night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This was a HUGE HIT at a party i brought it to. I used half as much pasta, left out the celery and kept some of the pineapple juice and used half as much sugar. Very very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This was really good! I had 3 servings but I made it as a side dish (omitted the chicken)to the BBQ chicken. It was great for a summer side. The kids loved the fruit too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Ruiz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This is a great recipe! I followed recipe except I omitted the celery and I used poppyseed dressing instead of the mayo. IT WAS SO DELICIOUS! I will make this often!! Thanks for posting it(O:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fluffy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This is one of the best pasta salads I've had in a long while. The only thing I add is a sprinkle of sunflower seeds. {shelled of course}. It just gives it an extra yummy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I am so glad you posted this i had it at a potluck and have been searching everywhere for the recipe, this sounds exactly like what i ate....thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Murray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I really love this recipe, but it needs a little more flavor for my taste. Usually I use a lot more ground pepper and double the sauce (also add plain yogurt). I have not yet got adding other spices down to a science , but when I get it right this is a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Considering there are only two of us, this really made a lot - great dish for a pot luck! I liked it a lot, but I did make a few changes. Most notably, I did not add any sugar!! And I added onion (shallot). These are my suggestions: 1) I used a small 8 oz can of pinapple chunks and cut them in 1/2. A full 20 oz can would be toooooo much! 2) I used 1/2 can of mandarin oranges - a full can would be OK - but be sure to add them right at the end. Mine were pretty much disintegrated by all the mixing (they're much too delicate to put in early). 3) eliminate the sugar all together! 4) I added a shallot (green onion or minced purple onion would be OK too) 5) I made the full recipe and used the 3/4 cup mayo, but next time I'll reduce the mayo a little. Hubby would have preferred Miracle Whip (I don't care for it so I stuck with the mayo). I've shared this recipe with my sisters. This is a light, healthy dinner and since I had left over grilled chicken, it was pretty quick to put together. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This was good and unique, and I may try taking it to a potluck to see how it's received. I'd prefer it without the apples next time. I didn't add the milk thinking the juice from the fruits might be enough, but the pasta did end up absorbing the liquid making it a little dryer. I agree with other reviews that it seemed to be missing "something" - a little more spice or seasoning needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States