Chicken Saagwala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Seemed like a lot of ginger, but it wasn't. I also used coconut milk -- fantastic. I can't wait to gobble up the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rordon Gamsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lander, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Very flavorful. I used coconut milk instead of skim. The whole meal was served over a bed of basmanti rice also made with coconut milk, wine and I threw in some peas for luck. See http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/guys-big-bite-/coconut-rice-and-peas-recipe/index.html for the rice recipe. ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BlueB
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This is great, and it goes together quickly. I added additional garam masala, and until I added the yogurt and milk, I used medium high heat, therefore eliminating the need to cook as long as directed. My family suggests tying a string to the bay leaf for easy recovery and making more sauce. I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This is an excellent recipe and I will definitely be making it again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I made this vegetarian by using Morningstar Farms Chik'n Strips and we all liked it (including children). It was really good with the rice recipe recommended by Bruce (Sep. 2011).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I put 1/4 red and 1/4 green pimiento with the onion. They added even more taste to this delicious dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IGNACIO

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I liked this very much, but I was confused by the lack of salt. Is this an oversight? Either way, I added salt to taste and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Very flavourful and yummy! I was sad when there wasn't much gravy because it would have been so good - but maybe this is not a gravy heavy dish. The spices are spot on for sure. I omitted the plain yogurt as I didn't have any and used whole milk instead. Also, I just eyeballed the milk amount to my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was good, but it's lacking some depth of flavor. As with most Indian recipes, ended up nearly doubling the dry spices, but it was still a bit bland. Maybe I need to saute the onions longer to develop their flavor more, or use more garlic...I'll have to have a play around with the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pleasedeleteprofile
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I thought this was super easy to make, but if you don't have a well stalked pantry, might require a little shopping. For those that don't want to buy full sizes of the spices, stores like Sprouts, Whole Foods etc... let you purchase in smaller quantities. I thought the flavor of this dish was good, but missing something. I also used coconut milk. The only major thing I changed was the cooking time. If you cook as long as it states the chicken might be over cooked. I cooked chicken over medium and it was completely cooked thru in 5 minutes. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States