Chicken Saagwala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Very flavorful. I used coconut milk instead of skim. The whole meal was served over a bed of basmanti rice also made with coconut milk, wine and I threw in some peas for luck. See http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/guys-big-bite-/coconut-rice-and-peas-recipe/index.html for the rice recipe. ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Seemed like a lot of ginger, but it wasn't. I also used coconut milk -- fantastic. I can't wait to gobble up the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rordon Gamsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lander, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This is an excellent recipe and I will definitely be making it again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was good, but it's lacking some depth of flavor. As with most Indian recipes, ended up nearly doubling the dry spices, but it was still a bit bland. Maybe I need to saute the onions longer to develop their flavor more, or use more garlic...I'll have to have a play around with the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I liked this very much, but I was confused by the lack of salt. Is this an oversight? Either way, I added salt to taste and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I've also found that most Indian recipes don't have a strong flavor. So, I took the suggestion to double the dry masala, this was great! I finely chopped two onions, also, I blanched, peeled and pureed three small tomatoes. Rather than adding the ginger root and garlic clove, I added two tsp of ginger-garlic paste and one tsp of garlic paste. I also added one red chili for kick. I added the yogurt, but I left out the milk. I liked the taste and I didn't want to change it. Maybe next time I'll try adding the milk. I love saagwala chicken and I'll definitely come back to this recipe. This recipe has good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Easy and tasty dish. Like other reviews I used coconut milk in place of regular. Will definitely continue to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I have made this recipe a number of times and my husband and I both love it. I follow the recipe exactly, except I add 1 tsp of salt and 1/2 tsp of ground pepper, in with the other spices, and I double the spinach. I've also made this vegetarian before with mushrooms and paneer (the paneer was made with a recipe from this site). When modifying the recipe just make sure to add liquid to replace the liquid you would get from the chicken. I browned sliced mushrooms with the onions, then continued following the recipe and added the spices, garlic, ginger, and tomato paste. At this point I began adding vegetable broth and continued to do so as needed until the mixture had simmered for 10 minutes (this is important, just add enough so your mixture can simmer and bubble softly, not too much that it's really soupy, but enough that it doesn't burn and stick to the pan), then I added the spinach, let it wilt a minute, then added the yogurt, milk, and paneer. Brought the mixture back up to a simmer and let it simmer for another 10 minutes. I also should note that this dish is quite spicy; halve the pepper if you don't like the heat. To make this taste a little more Thai use coconut milk instead of skim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I liked it but next time I will not try to substitute ground cinnamon for the cinnomon sticks. Take my advice, don't even try it, it makes the dish waaaay too cinnamon-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pleasedeleteprofile
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I thought this was super easy to make, but if you don't have a well stalked pantry, might require a little shopping. For those that don't want to buy full sizes of the spices, stores like Sprouts, Whole Foods etc... let you purchase in smaller quantities. I thought the flavor of this dish was good, but missing something. I also used coconut milk. The only major thing I changed was the cooking time. If you cook as long as it states the chicken might be over cooked. I cooked chicken over medium and it was completely cooked thru in 5 minutes. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Chicken Tikka Masala

See how to make this top-rated recipe for spiced chicken in a tomato cream sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States