Chicken Saag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
This is a great and easy recipe for such a complicated dish. Flavors are on point- but I agree with other reviews that you need to double or triple the spices, it needs it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by librachic17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Nothing like saag from the Indian restaurants I've been to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I liked this, but I had to doctor it to make it more like what it's like in Indian restaurants. I had read reviews saying that it was a bit bland, which was hard to imagine, given all the spices the recipe calls for! Nevertheless, it was a bit bland. It was also very dry--not creamy like it is in restaurants. Therefore, I recommend that you double the milk and (at least) triple the amount of butter called for. I would also at a TBS of the Garam Masala (not a tsp.) and a TBS of salt (not a tsp.). You may need to add even more salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Owens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I found this recipe by accident while searching for ideas based on ingredients I had on hand. It did take longer to throw together than anticipated but it was so worth it! I used cubed stir fry chicken and fresh spinach leaves. I assembled the garam masala from another recipe on this site. I didn't have cardamom but didn't miss it. I did ask my husband to grab basmati rice on the way home because it really does tie the dish together. The only thing I will do differently next time is add the seasoning to the chicken earlier. This dish had a lot of flavor but in the middle of it all was some bland chicken. Try it! You'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This was great and was even better without chicken. I added some curry to it and used 1/4 tsp ground cloves rather than whole. I served it over basmati rice. Will definitely make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittbaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ambiga Thiagarajah
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
This is definitely a keeper! I have used ground cumin instead of cloves and cardamom. I don't have garam masala and sour cream so I have substitute them with allspice and whipping cream. The result was amazing. I do suggest to minced the garlic, onion ang ginger a day before to reduce the preparation time. This is because it takes a lot of time to cook this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ambiga Thiagarajah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. I cook a lot. The final product had no flavor. Even after tripling the spice ratios of everything, it still just tasted hot spicy without any layers of anything. There was WAY too much spinach, I thought when I was making it that it seemed wrong to possibly use that much spinach, and in the end this was definitely true. If it tasted good I could have gotten over the unappetizing look of it, but it didn't. Absolutely nothing like the dish you actually get at an Indian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This is one of my favourite Indian dishes and this recipe really makes it less daunting (also it took me about an hour including prep so don't be worried about the estimated time). I changed it quite a bit though. I halved the recipe, but kept the same amount of spices. I also uses two fresh tomatoes instead of canned. Next time the only things I would change is draining the spinach before adding it and adding a little less butter at the end. My SO loved it. We jumped on it so quickly we forgot to take a photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This is amazing, if not exactly what you may get in an Indian restaurant (it is better!). I halved the recipe, using 16 oz. bin of organic spinach from Costco, and chopped finely (versus using the blender after cooking). Used the Garam Masala recipe from this site, and used boneless chicken breasts. Served with basmati rice, I got 5 servings from half the recipe. It took nearly 2 hours, but I'll gladly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
We really enjoyed this recipe too, however I feel that the ginger and garlic could be blended or pressed instead of minced. We also like our indian food really spicy, so I used at least triple the amount of cayenne pepper to add more heat to the dish. Otherwise, we had plenty of leftovers for a few nights between my husband and I. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States