Chicken Saag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I really liked it and my picky 3yr (who takes 1 hr to eat) gobbled it up in 5 minutes!! This is definitely a keeper :) but I think I added way too much sour cream lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Stunning!!breakfast lunch and dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Awesome flavors! I modified it a bit in the interest of time by using a store-bought rotisserie chicken and my electric pressure cooker. I only used one bag of pre-washed spinach and used 5 tsp of a garlic ginger paste that I keep in the fridge. I chopped the chicken and ended up with about 2 cups, which I added to the sauce and cooked on low pressure for 5 min. The chicken fell apart and blended well. After adding the spinach, I cooked it on low pressure for 8 min. Lastly, I only used 1/8 tsp of cayenne since I was feeding toddlers. Really, really good over basmati rice. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Wow! Thank you so much for posting this! We are only able to have authentic Indian food when we travel out of a major airport two hours from home. This is a wonderful, scrumptious copy of the chicken saag I had the last time we traveled. I made it exactly as written, and it tastes almost exactly like that which I had in the Indian restaurant, without the high price tag or two hour commute. I served it over brown rice I'd sprinkled with cilantro, and it was soooooo delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This is an incredible recipe that takes time and effort. It is worth every minute it takes. The 2nd time I made it, I subbed rinsed canned garbanzos and a cube of bullion instead of chicken. Still great. This will be a recipe I keep always.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARMONKEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
loved it! so deeeelisssh. I didn't have 3 pounds of chicken so I added a can of garbanzo beans from the pantry and it turned out great. I served the chicken saag with naan topped with garlic and olive oil. I didnt have cayenne pepper so I added red pepper flakes. I also didn't have sour cream so I used Chobani plain yogurt instead. I will recommend this recipe its so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Excellent! We enjoyed it as much as eating it at the restaurant. Couldn't find Garam Masala locally, thanks for the recipe on your sight, now I have some for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This is a great recipe but use rounded spoons on ALL of the spices you'll be happy you did, it needs a little more spice. I have made this several times and it is perfection with rounded spoonfuls. I also use use just over 2 lbs of spinach and put it in the food processor. I have got nothing but amazing comments on this. People beg me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I've made this a few times, and it is really delicious. I've played around with the ratios, and I've taken to adding more onion and Cayenne pepper. It adds a really nice back of the tongue heat but doesn't over power the other flavors. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I love Indian food, but so much of the recipes call for ghee or other items that I just don't have on hand. This recipe was easy to follow, and easy to modify if needed. I cut the recipe in half, used diced fire roasted tomatoes, cut up chicken tenderloins,left out the clove because my garam masala has plenty of that flavor already; you do need to adjust spices to taste, I used the full serving amounts, plus adjustments. Ate a serving before realizing I had forgotten the greek yogurt and butter - it was great flavor, but didn't have the restaurant creaminess; with the yogurt it was perfect, the chicken was tender and spinach flavorful. Agree that spinach was not fully wilted with 1/4 cup, but didn't affect recipe outcome. Really recommend this one, plan to do it again with chickpeas.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Chronister

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States