Chicken Saag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Awesome flavors! I modified it a bit in the interest of time by using a store-bought rotisserie chicken and my electric pressure cooker. I only used one bag of pre-washed spinach and used 5 tsp of a garlic ginger paste that I keep in the fridge. I chopped the chicken and ended up with about 2 cups, which I added to the sauce and cooked on low pressure for 5 min. The chicken fell apart and blended well. After adding the spinach, I cooked it on low pressure for 8 min. Lastly, I only used 1/8 tsp of cayenne since I was feeding toddlers. Really, really good over basmati rice. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This is an incredible recipe that takes time and effort. It is worth every minute it takes. The 2nd time I made it, I subbed rinsed canned garbanzos and a cube of bullion instead of chicken. Still great. This will be a recipe I keep always.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARMONKEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This is a great recipe but use rounded spoons on ALL of the spices you'll be happy you did, it needs a little more spice. I have made this several times and it is perfection with rounded spoonfuls. I also use use just over 2 lbs of spinach and put it in the food processor. I have got nothing but amazing comments on this. People beg me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Wow! Thank you so much for posting this! We are only able to have authentic Indian food when we travel out of a major airport two hours from home. This is a wonderful, scrumptious copy of the chicken saag I had the last time we traveled. I made it exactly as written, and it tastes almost exactly like that which I had in the Indian restaurant, without the high price tag or two hour commute. I served it over brown rice I'd sprinkled with cilantro, and it was soooooo delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Great recipe! I didn't have sour cream, so I subbed in yogurt, and I replaced the turmeric and cardamom I didn't have with curry powder. Tastes just like the chicken saag at my favorite Indian restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Stunning!!breakfast lunch and dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This was great and was even better without chicken. I added some curry to it and used 1/4 tsp ground cloves rather than whole. I served it over basmati rice. Will definitely make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittbaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This is one of my favourite Indian dishes and this recipe really makes it less daunting (also it took me about an hour including prep so don't be worried about the estimated time). I changed it quite a bit though. I halved the recipe, but kept the same amount of spices. I also uses two fresh tomatoes instead of canned. Next time the only things I would change is draining the spinach before adding it and adding a little less butter at the end. My SO loved it. We jumped on it so quickly we forgot to take a photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This is amazing, if not exactly what you may get in an Indian restaurant (it is better!). I halved the recipe, using 16 oz. bin of organic spinach from Costco, and chopped finely (versus using the blender after cooking). Used the Garam Masala recipe from this site, and used boneless chicken breasts. Served with basmati rice, I got 5 servings from half the recipe. It took nearly 2 hours, but I'll gladly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I've made this a few times, and it is really delicious. I've played around with the ratios, and I've taken to adding more onion and Cayenne pepper. It adds a really nice back of the tongue heat but doesn't over power the other flavors. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States