Chicken Saag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
We really enjoyed this recipe too, however I feel that the ginger and garlic could be blended or pressed instead of minced. We also like our indian food really spicy, so I used at least triple the amount of cayenne pepper to add more heat to the dish. Otherwise, we had plenty of leftovers for a few nights between my husband and I. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Great recipe! I didn't have sour cream, so I subbed in yogurt, and I replaced the turmeric and cardamom I didn't have with curry powder. Tastes just like the chicken saag at my favorite Indian restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This is a really good recipe -- very authentic tasting. I substituted cubed boneless chicken breasts for the cut up chicken and probably cut the cooking time by at least 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I love Indian food, but so much of the recipes call for ghee or other items that I just don't have on hand. This recipe was easy to follow, and easy to modify if needed. I cut the recipe in half, used diced fire roasted tomatoes, cut up chicken tenderloins,left out the clove because my garam masala has plenty of that flavor already; you do need to adjust spices to taste, I used the full serving amounts, plus adjustments. Ate a serving before realizing I had forgotten the greek yogurt and butter - it was great flavor, but didn't have the restaurant creaminess; with the yogurt it was perfect, the chicken was tender and spinach flavorful. Agree that spinach was not fully wilted with 1/4 cup, but didn't affect recipe outcome. Really recommend this one, plan to do it again with chickpeas.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I really liked it and my picky 3yr (who takes 1 hr to eat) gobbled it up in 5 minutes!! This is definitely a keeper :) but I think I added way too much sour cream lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ecpiersk
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
The saag part turned out perfectly but the chicken was a little dry. I think you should just sear the chicken pieces before adding the tomato/onion spice mixture (which I also pureed, to get a consistency closer to what I've had at restaurants). Also 1/4 cup water for the spinach (I just used a whole bag) wasn't enough to get them properly steamed, more like 1 cup. A package of thawed frozen spinach would also work I think if you're pressed for time. Next time I will also throw in a couple whole dried chiles. Also nonfat plain Greek yogurt works well in place of sour cream :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I've made this a few times, and it is really delicious. I've played around with the ratios, and I've taken to adding more onion and Cayenne pepper. It adds a really nice back of the tongue heat but doesn't over power the other flavors. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Our family really enjoyed this recipe. Because we're vegetarian and eat very little dairy, I modified it by adding chick peas instead of chicken, using coconut milk in place of cow's milk and omitting the sour cream. I also used a freshly diced chile in place of the cayenne because I learned to make all Indian dishes with fresh, whole spices. While the flavor was great, I wasn't thrilled with the consistency and next time will either grate the onion or will remove the whole spices at the end and give the saag a few pulses with my handheld immersion blender before serving. Also, by adding a handful of freshly chopped cilantro before serving, the flavors seem brighter. Our favorite Indian restaurant uses a similar saag recipe with lots of coriander for flavor and no cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atlanticsong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This is a great recipe but use rounded spoons on ALL of the spices you'll be happy you did, it needs a little more spice. I have made this several times and it is perfection with rounded spoonfuls. I also use use just over 2 lbs of spinach and put it in the food processor. I have got nothing but amazing comments on this. People beg me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Excellent! We enjoyed it as much as eating it at the restaurant. Couldn't find Garam Masala locally, thanks for the recipe on your sight, now I have some for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States