Chicken Saag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Worst Indian food I have ever made or tasted. I cook a lot and have never written a review on a recipe I find online, but took the time to sign up for an account to prevent anyone from having the misfortune of ever making this recipe again. I don't even know where to start. The final product had literally no flavor and tasted of a bland, watery, goo. Even after tripling the spice ratios of everything, it still just tasted hot spicy without any layers of anything. There was WAY too much spinach, I thought when I was making it that it seemed wrong to possibly use that much spinach, and in the end this was definitely true. I would not recommend putting it in the blender, it turns into a green goo that looks like vomit or slime. There was also so much that the chicken was basically just floating in liters of stew. You will drink a bowl of disgusting green water to get to a piece of chicken. If it tasted good I could have gotten over the ill look of it, but it didn't. Absolutely nothing like the dish you actually get at an Indian restaurant. I would recommend Madhar Jeffrey's Curry Nation for good curry dishes, it just unfortunately does not include a recipe for chicken saag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This is one of my favourite Indian dishes and this recipe really makes it less daunting (also it took me about an hour including prep so don't be worried about the estimated time). I changed it quite a bit though. I halved the recipe, but kept the same amount of spices. I also uses two fresh tomatoes instead of canned. Next time the only things I would change is draining the spinach before adding it and adding a little less butter at the end. My SO loved it. We jumped on it so quickly we forgot to take a photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This is amazing, if not exactly what you may get in an Indian restaurant (it is better!). I halved the recipe, using 16 oz. bin of organic spinach from Costco, and chopped finely (versus using the blender after cooking). Used the Garam Masala recipe from this site, and used boneless chicken breasts. Served with basmati rice, I got 5 servings from half the recipe. It took nearly 2 hours, but I'll gladly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
We really enjoyed this recipe too, however I feel that the ginger and garlic could be blended or pressed instead of minced. We also like our indian food really spicy, so I used at least triple the amount of cayenne pepper to add more heat to the dish. Otherwise, we had plenty of leftovers for a few nights between my husband and I. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Great recipe! I didn't have sour cream, so I subbed in yogurt, and I replaced the turmeric and cardamom I didn't have with curry powder. Tastes just like the chicken saag at my favorite Indian restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This is a really good recipe -- very authentic tasting. I substituted cubed boneless chicken breasts for the cut up chicken and probably cut the cooking time by at least 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I love Indian food, but so much of the recipes call for ghee or other items that I just don't have on hand. This recipe was easy to follow, and easy to modify if needed. I cut the recipe in half, used diced fire roasted tomatoes, cut up chicken tenderloins,left out the clove because my garam masala has plenty of that flavor already; you do need to adjust spices to taste, I used the full serving amounts, plus adjustments. Ate a serving before realizing I had forgotten the greek yogurt and butter - it was great flavor, but didn't have the restaurant creaminess; with the yogurt it was perfect, the chicken was tender and spinach flavorful. Agree that spinach was not fully wilted with 1/4 cup, but didn't affect recipe outcome. Really recommend this one, plan to do it again with chickpeas.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I really liked it and my picky 3yr (who takes 1 hr to eat) gobbled it up in 5 minutes!! This is definitely a keeper :) but I think I added way too much sour cream lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ecpiersk
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
The saag part turned out perfectly but the chicken was a little dry. I think you should just sear the chicken pieces before adding the tomato/onion spice mixture (which I also pureed, to get a consistency closer to what I've had at restaurants). Also 1/4 cup water for the spinach (I just used a whole bag) wasn't enough to get them properly steamed, more like 1 cup. A package of thawed frozen spinach would also work I think if you're pressed for time. Next time I will also throw in a couple whole dried chiles. Also nonfat plain Greek yogurt works well in place of sour cream :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I've made this a few times, and it is really delicious. I've played around with the ratios, and I've taken to adding more onion and Cayenne pepper. It adds a really nice back of the tongue heat but doesn't over power the other flavors. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

This creamy, classic Indian restaurant dish is easy to make at home.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States