Chicken Ropa Vieja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I love love loved it, my kids devoured it. I did add a little adobo, but other than that, a favorite for my family. Great recipe, thank you =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I have made this recipe twice now. The first time I followed the directions verbatim, and it was okay. The second time I made it for a baby shower and decided to add some some extra flavor to it. I tripled the garlic that is added to it the second part of the recipe and for the tomato puree I used a can of Rotel and just pureed it in the food processor. I also bumped up the cumin A LOT, also added Adobo seasoning to taste and used a little white pepper. I made 6 lbs and left with an empty dish. It was amazing. Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This was delicious. I threw the chicken and veggies in corckpot and cooked for 4 hours. Did the rest on the stove. I did add 2-3 T of cumin and added nearly a whole can of tomato puree. Served this with white rice and baked plantain chips.. yumyum Will make again. easy dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I served this recipe to High School Students as a School Lunch Chef Display - I used slightly baked Pita bread ( in place of a tortilla ) and served it Fajita Style, being a school meal I had to omit the Wine but replaced it with RED WINE vinegar and it turned out nice, served it with a Red Bean and Rice Side dish and topped it with a Pineapple Mango Salsa. Great Dish - the students gave it a thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikel Holland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This was a real disappointment because it was so bland- tasted like chicken in tomato sauce. I assume the menu really called for tomato paste, and not puree, since paste mixed with the broth might at least have given the sauce more body. We doctored it as best we could with more cumin and cuban hot sauce, but this really wasn't very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
My boyfriend really enjoyed this recipe, but only after I added lots of Adobo seasoning, garlic powder, and cumin after I tasted it. I still feel that it is a really great base recipe, and a great idea to use healthier chicken breast as opposed to steak. I am making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Golan's Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I am the author of this recipe. I agree with one of the reviews, stating that it came out bland. I always add 2-3 tbsp cumin - hence "to taste".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I doubled the sauce portion of this recipe and served it with black beans and rice and fried plantains. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
this was ok, it needs a lot more flavor...I added some salsa at the end and it helped
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States