Chicken Roche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This was a hit with my husband. He suggested shrimp or imitation crab as an alternative meat or even leave the chicken and add to it. More like Gumbo. It needed a little salt in my opinion. I also would have used the spices while cooking the chicken not the vegetables so the flavor would get into the meat more thoroughly. But overall very good and very quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hiho

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nuevo, California, USA
Living In: Mount Pleasant, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tignor
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This was pretty good, very filling. I would have liked more seasoning and used the creole seasoning recipe here on Allrecipes, so not sure if a commercial mix would have been better. I could also probably use some fresher spices. But I'd make it again. Very easy and fast to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tignor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Delicious! Used a recipe from this site for Creole Seasoning Blend. Used fresh green beans because I had some on hand. Subbed a vegetarian chicken substitute. Turned out very tasty and the picky eater I served it to liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I didn't have high hopes but we loved it. I left out the chili powder and used extra creole seasoning. I added a can of corn along with the other vegetables. I also added onion and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOODLESTEACHES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I added canned spinach and used jamaican jerk seasoning since i didn't have any cajun. I also used a jamaican marinade on the chicken. added some celery too, and used kidney beans cause thats what I had. soooo good! served over brown and wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Nothing really spectacular with this one. Pretty simple and quick and easy to make, but not a staple in our kitchen. Could taste better if I had used fresh tomatoes, fresh green beans and maybe some white wine?? That would maybe eliminate some of the canned taste the dish had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PantryDreams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Easy & quick. Added corn for color and used brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This was just okay, in my opinion. I made it exactly as written (given a choice of green beans, I chose the whole ones, not cut ones). I was kind of surprised that, despite 2.5T of spices, this wasn't really all that spicy. The spices were not out-of-date either, nor did I have a cold to interfere with my sense of taste - it was weird, really, how near-bland this tasted. Plus, though I think green beans have their place, I thought they really threw this dish off - they just didn't seem to be the right kind of bean to have here. On the plus side though, this was probably a very healthy and balanced dish, despite the "okay" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This is a quick, satisfying, tasty meal. I have used the green beans, but I like no-salt canned corn better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
This was a delicious dish and a good way to use items we usually have on hand. It also makes use of very healthy ingredients. The only reason I gave it four stars instead of five is that it isn't the prettiest dish in the world. The red, green, and black of the tomatoes, green beans, and black beans was off-putting. One taste, however, and I was sold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States