Chicken Riggies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
This is a yummy recipe. The next time I will try to cut the fat in the recipe in several ways because I don't think it will detract from the taste. I will decrease the amount of oil and/or butter by about 25-50% because there were pools of oil on the top of the sauce at the end. I will also use a combination of half and half and milk combined with flour to thicken the sauce instead of heavy cream. The mushrooms I added were a great addition. This is a great recipe for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
The sherry added a delightfully subtle flavor to the sauce. We really enjoyed this pasta dish, Deanna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
I loves this recipe! It came out soooo good. I did a few changes - used roasted red pepper flavored olive oil, used twice as much garlic, used twice as many red peppers, and instead of regular tomatoe sause I used Classico Creations sun dried tomatoe. I also simmered it all a little longer to make it thicker. My husband loved it! Thanks for the recipe, I'm definately passing it along to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
I live in the Utica, NY area where Chicken Riggies are big, a Chicken Riggies Festival is being planned! This recipe is great! All my relatives loved it. Some added hot peppers and olives just make it better. I am gointo try others suggstions for fat free non dairy creamer. Thanks to Deanna for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
This dish is scrumptious! It truly is restaurant quality. I speed up the cooking time by combining the sherry and cream and simmering together for ten minutes. Leftovers don't look as appealing as the oil tends to seperate, but then again there are rarely leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Plainfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Milaca, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
This is my first review. I joined the site so I could submit it. My whole family loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2001
Everyone in my family loved it and with young children that is not always easy! I lowered the fat by using fat-free non-dairy cream instead of heavy cream and reducing olive oil to 2T. You can always thicken with cornstarch mixed with sherry at the end if necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I was trying to use what I had in my pantry this week and this recipe popped up. Though I have to admit that my tomato sauce was canned, and I added fresh parsley and basil (my sauce was begging for green) - I otherwise followed the recipe. The guys loved it - an easy, yummy dinner with ingredients I almost always have on hand. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
This dish is one of our favorites! Although, it is only for a rare occasion since it's so rich. Before frying, I dredge the chicken pieces thru some flour mixed w/a bit of salt & pepper. Also, add slices of black olives (when tossing in the peppers),if desired. Can also be made with shrimp instead of chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
Personally I ended up with a pink, runny mess that could be considered a sauce with chunks of chicken in it. I didn't find it to be all that appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Riggies

Watch how to make an amazing pasta sauce with chicken and sausage.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States