Chicken Rice Mexicana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2004
I liked this recipe, however I made a few alterations that really helped. First, I grilled strips of chicken breasts instead of cubed chicken using my George Foreman (took 5 min!) and then when layering it, I added spoonfuls of salsa over the rice. I also used cheddar instead of jack, and it worked very well. I ate mine with sour cream and extra salsa. This has a fajita casserole taste to it, which isn't my hubby's favorite thing but he liked it, especially in the times I have made it since, where I chop the peppers and onion up smaller so they're less noticeable. Even my toddler daughter eats it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
This was a great recipe!!!!! I did make some major changes. First I used spanish rice from a box. Then I put chilies, cuman and cilantro to the chicken mixture. My husband put sourcream on his. This was creamy and really good. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
I changed the recipe a little because I read the reviews that said it need something else. I used 1 1/2 lbs. of chicken and 4 cups of rice. Two cups of rice didn't seem to be enough. I still used the same amount of milk and cream of mushroom soup. The thing that made the big difference was that I added a package of taco seasoning to my chicken before I added the soup and milk. I made it a second time and added a can of diced green chilies. Sprinkle some cheddar cheese on top of the monterey jack. Try it this way and you will love it. A good recipe to play with and change around. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
This is FANTASTIC! The only thing we did differently was to use pepperjack cheese instead of just regular jack (we like spice) and used more cheese than it called for. This was absolutely to die for! One of my favorite finds, ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie4b1g

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I was the original poster of this recipe YEARS ago (before they even registered users) and I see that there is an ingredient that was omitted. It is supposed to have a package of taco seasoning added with the soup and milk. I saw at least one reviewer who suggested that change. :) I love all the ideas and suggestions from others, too. It's just what is great about AllRecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crankybug
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
Great, quick dinner! I used a bagged, frozen pepper/onion blend, added some corn, and used Cream of Chicken instead of mushroom. Also threw in a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles. When it was served, I crumbled tortilla chips on top and added a dollup of sour cream. I think I'll try it in the crock pot next time and throw in the rice when I get home after work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Tried it but used vegetables I had on hand, peas, carrots and corn. And didn't have white rice, had brown rice. Came out good. Added salsa for extra kick. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This was good stuff. I did tweak it a bit though. I sauteed my chicken with the peppers and onions and then sprinkled it all with Taco Seasoning I (from this site). I also used pepper jack cheese, and mixed the chicken mixture into the rice rather than layering it. I loved how simple this was to prepare, and I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Very good. Add 1/2 cup of your favorite salsa- we usually have some in the fridge- to the rice to make "Mexican Rice" for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
I had some leftover rice and a green pepper I needed to use up, so I picked this recipe. It was very easy to make and it tasted pretty good. I used green onions because my wife doesn't like regular onions. With a little effort, we got our kids to eat it, even with the peppers. I think it probably needs something else -- maybe corn or peas or some other veggies and definitely more spices. But overall, it was quick, easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KENDAHLJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bonaire, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States