Chicken Rice Mexicana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2000
Needs a little more flavor. Great recipe to play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chico, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2001
THIS WAS REALLY EASY ONCE YOU PREPARED THE VEGETABLE. I SLICED AVACADO ON MINE. THE TIME ON THIS ONE IS A LITTLE OFF. I USED A GLASS DISH AND I CHECKED THE OVEN AT ABOUT 20 MINUTES AND IT WAS DONE. GREAT TASTE AND YOU CAN REALLY SPICE THIS UP OR LEAVE AS IS. MY FAMILY LOVED IT. THIS IS A KEEPER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2001
this dish tasted great! my family ate them like fajitas with guacamole, sour cream, and cheddar cheese.even my 3 yo enjoyed it (after he picked out the peppers!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2001
Pretty bland, needs more flavor. My son who isn't too picky didn't eat a bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckymc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
It's easy, tasty and moist, and a good option for a potluck dish (served without tortillas). It even tastes good left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
I changed the recipe a little because I read the reviews that said it need something else. I used 1 1/2 lbs. of chicken and 4 cups of rice. Two cups of rice didn't seem to be enough. I still used the same amount of milk and cream of mushroom soup. The thing that made the big difference was that I added a package of taco seasoning to my chicken before I added the soup and milk. I made it a second time and added a can of diced green chilies. Sprinkle some cheddar cheese on top of the monterey jack. Try it this way and you will love it. A good recipe to play with and change around. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
I love this recipe. I add a little more spice to mine and my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
A good basic recipe, but the eggplant tastes so much better when it's fried instead of baked! Also, take my advice and simmer a pot of homemade tomato sauce while the slices are frying/baking - it doesn't take much longer, and it tastes so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
This was a good recipe to make. If you like your food a little spicier add a can of rotel but I couldn't because my mom can't handle spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
This was very tasty. But I did modify it a bit. My husband doesn't like green peppers so I just added the red. I also added half a package of fajita season mix. And about half of a cup of garlic salsa. I also did not layer the dish. I just mixed the rice with the chicken mixture. I ate mine with sour cream and extra garlic salsa. It was a bit soupy for picking up and eating. But we had fun trying and then finally gave up and used forks. I can also see this as a good base of a taco salad. I personally loved it but I doubt I will be making it again since my hubby wasn't overwhelmingly thrilled. Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States