Chicken Rice Mexicana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
I cut back on the calories by not using the tortilla and using all reduced fat items (soup, cheese, milk ETC.) and added salsa and extra spices (cumin, chili powder and garlic) Also used cheddar instead of jack, cause that is what I had and also brown rice , instead of white. In all it was pretty good for a heatlier version.. I'd make it again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Knowles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Made as recipes says - it was very good. Super filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Very good. Add 1/2 cup of your favorite salsa- we usually have some in the fridge- to the rice to make "Mexican Rice" for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This was an interesting faux-mexican midwestern casserole. I might make it again sometime. The rice got kind of crunchy, but that was not all bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
This recipe is bland, but okay. I added salt and pepper, and then, got it out of the oven, before it had a chance to coook, and added some salsa. I think rice is gross with tortilla shells, so I didn't use them. There is quite a bit of prepparation to this: cutting the vegetables and the chicken into cubes, and cooking it all before the final bake. It could be a little easier and quicker, I think. That's just my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
This recipe was just okay. There was way too much rice in it, which made it taste a little bland. After you cook the rice and the chicken mixture, it's basically finished. You don't need to bake it in layers with the cheese on top IF you are going to put it in tortillas as the recipe suggests-- it just adds cooking time and not much else. You can instead, mix some rice in with the chicken mixture (not as much as recipe suggests), put in tortillas, and put shredded cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
This was a great recipe!!!!! I did make some major changes. First I used spanish rice from a box. Then I put chilies, cuman and cilantro to the chicken mixture. My husband put sourcream on his. This was creamy and really good. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
This is FANTASTIC! The only thing we did differently was to use pepperjack cheese instead of just regular jack (we like spice) and used more cheese than it called for. This was absolutely to die for! One of my favorite finds, ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Kovacs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
Better the second day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
I had some leftover rice and a green pepper I needed to use up, so I picked this recipe. It was very easy to make and it tasted pretty good. I used green onions because my wife doesn't like regular onions. With a little effort, we got our kids to eat it, even with the peppers. I think it probably needs something else -- maybe corn or peas or some other veggies and definitely more spices. But overall, it was quick, easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KENDAHLJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States