Chicken Rice Mexicana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This was an interesting faux-mexican midwestern casserole. I might make it again sometime. The rice got kind of crunchy, but that was not all bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
This recipe is bland, but okay. I added salt and pepper, and then, got it out of the oven, before it had a chance to coook, and added some salsa. I think rice is gross with tortilla shells, so I didn't use them. There is quite a bit of prepparation to this: cutting the vegetables and the chicken into cubes, and cooking it all before the final bake. It could be a little easier and quicker, I think. That's just my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
This recipe was just okay. There was way too much rice in it, which made it taste a little bland. After you cook the rice and the chicken mixture, it's basically finished. You don't need to bake it in layers with the cheese on top IF you are going to put it in tortillas as the recipe suggests-- it just adds cooking time and not much else. You can instead, mix some rice in with the chicken mixture (not as much as recipe suggests), put in tortillas, and put shredded cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
This was a great recipe!!!!! I did make some major changes. First I used spanish rice from a box. Then I put chilies, cuman and cilantro to the chicken mixture. My husband put sourcream on his. This was creamy and really good. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elm Grove, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minburn, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
This is FANTASTIC! The only thing we did differently was to use pepperjack cheese instead of just regular jack (we like spice) and used more cheese than it called for. This was absolutely to die for! One of my favorite finds, ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie4b1g

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
Better the second day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
I had some leftover rice and a green pepper I needed to use up, so I picked this recipe. It was very easy to make and it tasted pretty good. I used green onions because my wife doesn't like regular onions. With a little effort, we got our kids to eat it, even with the peppers. I think it probably needs something else -- maybe corn or peas or some other veggies and definitely more spices. But overall, it was quick, easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KENDAHLJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bonaire, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
This was just so-so in my house.. Once I had the chicken and vegetables sauteed, my husband looked horrified that I was going to add soup to the mix and make it a "casserole." I stopped there, added the rice to the chicken and vegetables (sans soup) and served as-is with grated cheese and torillas. After thinking about it, adding soup to a dish like this seemed a little weird. Go for the gusto and just have them as fajitas! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CareyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
I liked this recipe, however I made a few alterations that really helped. First, I grilled strips of chicken breasts instead of cubed chicken using my George Foreman (took 5 min!) and then when layering it, I added spoonfuls of salsa over the rice. I also used cheddar instead of jack, and it worked very well. I ate mine with sour cream and extra salsa. This has a fajita casserole taste to it, which isn't my hubby's favorite thing but he liked it, especially in the times I have made it since, where I chop the peppers and onion up smaller so they're less noticeable. Even my toddler daughter eats it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
This was very tasty. But I did modify it a bit. My husband doesn't like green peppers so I just added the red. I also added half a package of fajita season mix. And about half of a cup of garlic salsa. I also did not layer the dish. I just mixed the rice with the chicken mixture. I ate mine with sour cream and extra garlic salsa. It was a bit soupy for picking up and eating. But we had fun trying and then finally gave up and used forks. I can also see this as a good base of a taco salad. I personally loved it but I doubt I will be making it again since my hubby wasn't overwhelmingly thrilled. Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States