Chicken Rice Mexicana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
It was good, one change besides the sour cream as some of you have metioned will be to add some of the cheese in a middle layer to have more cheese alaround, not just on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
Great, quick dinner! I used a bagged, frozen pepper/onion blend, added some corn, and used Cream of Chicken instead of mushroom. Also threw in a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles. When it was served, I crumbled tortilla chips on top and added a dollup of sour cream. I think I'll try it in the crock pot next time and throw in the rice when I get home after work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
it was very easy to make - my last layer was of the chicken mix before the cheese, so didn't get crunchy rice as some reviewers did. will definitely make it again. and i'll try it with shrimp and some fresh mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
This was very good!! Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This is delicious! I used spanish rice (zatarran's) instead of white rice. 2 chicken breasts from frozen was enough meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
I found this recipe to be quite bland. I really had to doctor it with spices to get it to taste "tex-mex". I don't think I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glyndon, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I made a few alteration to this one: more rice and more cheese on top. I also put cayenne pepper on the chicken to make it a little more spicy. It got a little crunchy on top, I won't put it in as long next time. I would also add more milk and another can of cream of mushroom soup cause it was a little dry (probably because I added more rice). My parents loved it. Good reheated. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
Very very good. My roommate, who hates Mexican food, even liked these. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
I agree with another rater, the rice was crunchy on the top. Next time I would just put rice on the bottom. I would also use a smaller casserole dish or add more cheese. One cup is not enough. I sprinkled cumin on top of the chicken mixture and added a little salt & Pepper, which was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
I cut back on the calories by not using the tortilla and using all reduced fat items (soup, cheese, milk ETC.) and added salsa and extra spices (cumin, chili powder and garlic) Also used cheddar instead of jack, cause that is what I had and also brown rice , instead of white. In all it was pretty good for a heatlier version.. I'd make it again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Knowles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States