Chicken, Rice and Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Excellent soup! Like the other reviewers, I added garlic, thyme, and a bay leaf. I also added a few more veggies (red pepper & corn) and sauteed the onions in butter before adding them to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I used chicken thigh meat and brown rice. YUM. May use less carrots next time -- they were a bit overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I am always looking for healthy meals that will suit mommy, daddy and toddler. This is a really healthy meal, but as written a little on the bland side. I made as is the first time, and just ended up freezing in small batches for my one year old. The second go round, I added parsley; bay leaf; garlic; thyme; and sage(it was great). The proportions are great in this recipe, but I think it needs a few herbs to add flavor, as we all enjoyed it the second time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
I try to always follow a recipe as written the first time. This was tasteless. I added thyme, bay leaf and sage to try to overcome the blandness. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Excellent! We woke up with colds and I needed some chicken soup and this really filled the bill. It didn't say whether the chicken should be precooked so I assumed it should and boiled it in 5 cups water with added garlic and spices. Then I used the broth in place of the water. It was delicious. I would definitely recommend adding the spices - garlic, thyme, bay leaf. Everything else according to recipe was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Super easy and delicious soup. I too, added some thyme and a bay leaf. Very good winter comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I was pleasantly surprised with this recipe. I did add Thyme and sage but followed the recipe otherwise. It was very flavorful and my picky 3 year old ate it!! I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
Very quick and easy soup to make. My family loved it. I added the thyme, bay leaf and sage also and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
The suggested thyme, bay leaf and sage are an absolute must for terrific flavor. We really enjoyed this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARK_AMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Haslet, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
This was a very hearty and delicious soup. I have a cold and decided to try your recipe and it was perfect. Just like mama says..chicken soup is good for a cold. Thanks for posting. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calliecat

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 71-80 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States