Chicken, Rice and Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Yumm! My hubby was under the weather and needed some chicken soup. This was perfect! We have some in the freezer for the next time someone is down! Only change was to add some wild rice that I had in the pantry for WAY too long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHANY66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loma Rica, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Excellent soup. I did make a couple of changes. I always make a double batch and I use half water and half broth. I saute the chicken in pepper which gives it more flavour. I add oregano, thyme, bay leaf and dill (my hubby loves dill). I add 1/3 cup rice and 1/3 cup barley (double batch) for a more hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I thought this was a great recipe. I only made a couple of changes. First I poached the chicken breast in some of the chicken broth with some dill and garlic powder. Then I removed the chicken when done and added the rest of the ingredients to the broth/spice mixture. I diced up the chicken breast and added it back in once the veggies had been cooking for a while. Also, instead of using uncooked white rice, I used uncooked wild rice. It gave the soup a lot more body and is a little more healthy. I also added a couple bay leaves and thyme. Overall a great recipe.. I really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This is a great soup! Very easy to make and prepare. I used thyme, parsley, and a little oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I have the nastiest cold and have been told that Chicken Soup will help it go away sooner! So, I found this recipe and made it. It was just what the doctor ordered! Simple, not overpowering, and just right on a sore throat. I'm feeling much better! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Delicious!!! I sauteed the chicken in olive oil, fresh ground pepper and garlic salt. Used 32oz chicken broth and 2 cups water, only used 1 bouillon cube. Added a dash of sage, thymne and 1 bay leaf [as suggested by others]. Increased to 1/2 cup rice. Love the recipe! Will use again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helena, Alabama, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This soup was a winner in my house!! My husband loved every bit of it, he said I must make it again. I did add corn on the cob because my family loves corn and I used drumsticks because that is all I had on hand, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious! Will be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Great base recipe however I added: extra- Chicken (Sautéed in salt and pepper first), Frozen Mixed Veggies, and Rice. Then to Taste- Chicken Bouillon, Onion powder, White pepper, and Parsley. My husband and I prefer a thicker heartier soup so I add Cornstarch to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenkins14carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rising Sun, Maryland, USA
Living In: North East, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Really simple and very good. We doubled the rice portion though which made it much more hearty. I'd recommend that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
It was okay. I made it with turkey and noodles because I had leftover turkey and the family wanted noodles. I put lots of turkey, as requested, and ended up adding much more water. It needed salt by the end of it and even with the salt, it was lacking flavor. Might try this again, according to the recipe. It sure made the house smell good, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States