Chicken, Rice and Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I used this recipe as a guideline. I doubled it, added garlic, thyme, and bay leaf, as well as more rice than it called for. I also poached the chicken with the same spices, as well as some bouillon cubes, beforehand. With these changes it was delicious, and my husband loved it as well! It fed us for a few days. I'm making another pot tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
easy to double...added 3 cloves garlic, some dried rosemary, and hot pepper flakes to make it spicy and fun
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chad Rickert

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I used left over turkey from christmas all the other leftovers were gone but not the turkey. I gave it three stars because I did add more seasoning put into it to kick up the flavor. Otherwise very simple and basic to make, good for leftovers and that stuff you have sitting around in your cubboards such as rice and frozen veggies in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I'm trying hard to rate this fairly. I would give it a five for ease of preparation and basic guidelines, and a three because it was so obvious to me that I would have to make adjustments. So, I think an average of four is fair. Firstly, I reversed the proportion of water to chicken stock. Four cups of chicken stock and 14.5 ounces of water have much less sodium than a 14.5 ounce can of chicken broth and two bouillon cubes ... and it tastes so much more natural. I lightly sauteed the chicken and sweated the vegetables in olive oil to add flavor, and proceeded from there. Added dried thyme, oregano and parsley in addition to salt and pepper. But again, a high five to Gary Coveney for the inspiration and for a recipe that can be easily tweaked to taste. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This soup was absolutely delish..I made it for myself..I had friends stop by they said..what is that smell..I said I made soup...its the middle of summer....haha...and they loved it.. Instead of the boneless chicken breast I bought Drumbstics put 4 drumsticks in the water and chicken broth... I added some cabbage, 3 red potatoes cut up into squares, corn, minced garlic and one clove and brown rice..with a bit of hot sauce..you have to pay attention when adding salt and pepper cause it is for taste....throw the hot sauce in your personal bowl...adds much more flavor....My favorite..and I even froze the left overs...I will have it some other time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This is the easiest and tastiest recipe! I've made it so many times and my husband loves it to! I don't even make any adjustments because it's perfect comfort food:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This recipe is fantastic for using extra cooked chicken or frozen cooked chicken. A complete success. We love it and recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
great recipe, dd was sick made this for her, used fresh chicken breat that I boiled in the water and chicken broth, added salt, pepper , garlic, thyme. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
pretty good; need to play with proportions of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States