Chicken, Rice and Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I used brown rice instead of the white rice, threw in some cut up fresh green beans, added some sage, parsley and basil and cooked it a little longer than called for. I didn't measure but I know I used more chicken, celery, onions and carrots as well. Also used bullion cubes and filtered water instead of the broth. As I was using boneless skinless chicken, I didn't pre-cook it at all, just cut it up and threw it in. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Used brown rice instead and no canned broth, and let it simmer for much longer for flavor , yummy and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This is so easy and delicious! I made a triple batch. I did add some thyme, bay leaf and sage as suggested by others. Here are my helpful tips: 1. You must use rice that is not quick cooking. Use the old fashioned kind. If you use the 5 minute variety it will get very mushy. 2. Use one of those big rotisserie chicks from Sams or Costco. So easy and so yummy. I pulled the legs and wings off and saved for my teenager. I used all the meat for a triple batch but still have enough left for a quesadilla later this week! And that chicken was only $4.88. That is a deal. 3. Sautee all the vegetables a bit in the pot before adding anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I used this recipe as a guideline. I doubled it, added garlic, thyme, and bay leaf, as well as more rice than it called for. I also poached the chicken with the same spices, as well as some bouillon cubes, beforehand. With these changes it was delicious, and my husband loved it as well! It fed us for a few days. I'm making another pot tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
easy to double...added 3 cloves garlic, some dried rosemary, and hot pepper flakes to make it spicy and fun
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chad Rickert

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I used left over turkey from christmas all the other leftovers were gone but not the turkey. I gave it three stars because I did add more seasoning put into it to kick up the flavor. Otherwise very simple and basic to make, good for leftovers and that stuff you have sitting around in your cubboards such as rice and frozen veggies in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I'm trying hard to rate this fairly. I would give it a five for ease of preparation and basic guidelines, and a three because it was so obvious to me that I would have to make adjustments. So, I think an average of four is fair. Firstly, I reversed the proportion of water to chicken stock. Four cups of chicken stock and 14.5 ounces of water have much less sodium than a 14.5 ounce can of chicken broth and two bouillon cubes ... and it tastes so much more natural. I lightly sauteed the chicken and sweated the vegetables in olive oil to add flavor, and proceeded from there. Added dried thyme, oregano and parsley in addition to salt and pepper. But again, a high five to Gary Coveney for the inspiration and for a recipe that can be easily tweaked to taste. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This soup was absolutely delish..I made it for myself..I had friends stop by they said..what is that smell..I said I made soup...its the middle of summer....haha...and they loved it.. Instead of the boneless chicken breast I bought Drumbstics put 4 drumsticks in the water and chicken broth... I added some cabbage, 3 red potatoes cut up into squares, corn, minced garlic and one clove and brown rice..with a bit of hot sauce..you have to pay attention when adding salt and pepper cause it is for taste....throw the hot sauce in your personal bowl...adds much more flavor....My favorite..and I even froze the left overs...I will have it some other time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This is the easiest and tastiest recipe! I've made it so many times and my husband loves it to! I don't even make any adjustments because it's perfect comfort food:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States