Chicken Quesadillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Excellent Quesidillas! Just wanted to gives a heads up on two issues. First, most fajita mixes contain MSG (some people are adverse to this, understandably) Here is a good mix recipe: 3 Tbsp. cornstarch 2 Tbsp. chili powder 1 Tbsp. salt 1 Tbsp. paprika 1 Tbsp. sugar 2-1/2 tsp. crushed chicken bouillon cube 1-1/2 tsp. onion powder 1/2 tsp. garlic powder 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper 1/4 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes 1/2 tsp. cumin Preparation: Combine all of the ingredients in a small bowl. Pour into an airtight container.Makes the equivalent of 3 packets of commercial or purchased Fajita Seasoning Mix. Also, to crisp a tortilla; spread tortilla with butter before baking or wet with a bit of water. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2326 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
Pretty good, but I made these again and changed things a bit and liked it better. I omitted the bacon, instead of green peppers I used green chili peppers, used green onions and made my own fajita type seasoning that was not as spicy. Used two tortillas instead of folding one, brushed lightly with butter then grilled on the griddle about 3-4 minutes per side. Turned out perfectly browned and crispy, not dry at all. Served with a mixture of sour cream, salsa, and guacamole. Thanks for the initial idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
762 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
Here's the answer for crusty tortillas - wet them before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
527 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
My family loves these. I also had the soggy bottom problem, so I brush a little olive oil on the tortillas before I pop them in the oven. That makes them nice and crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHAMWIFE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
My family loved this recipe. I cooked the chicken first and then i cut into cubes it's much easier this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
O MY this was great! I love quesadillas and it turned out just as described! One thing I did was use a little less fajita seasoning as too much overwhelms the mild taste of the cheese and green peppers, then I used 2tbl. of italian dressing while cooking the chicken to give them a little moisture because we like our quesas saucy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
Oh sooo yummy!! I love quesadillas and this was just a wonderful and simple recipe for them. I didn't use the full packet of the seasoning mix because I don't think I used as much chicken as the recipe calls for. I used 8 tenderloins and half of the packet seemed to do the trick. I cooked these on my George Foreman and served them with homemade pico de gallo and guacamole. Will definitely be a repeat. Thanks Heather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
These were wonderful!! Though we did make some changes. We added about 1/2 lb of mushrooms (quartered) to the veggie mix and we only used 2 chicken breasts (there are only 2 of us) and we turned them into wraps and my husband added sour cream to his. Even with only 2 chicken breasts we had 6 wraps in the end (plently for the 2 of us for dinner and for lunch the next day!) very nice of the wallet. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUCIFEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Super good, but need to add a note for those using low-carb tortillas. These work so much better on a grill pan than baked in the oven. I've tried baking them in the oven with and without brushing with oil and/or butter, but the tortillas always come out very hard. Suggestion: Spray a frying pan with veg. oil spray and grill them at med. heat for about 4 min. on both sides -- they turn out tender and crispy. Also recommend sprinkling some cheese on the tortilla before adding the meat mixure, and then the rest of the cheese on top. This helps hold everything together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
This recipe was absolutely delicious. I didn't need as much green and red peppers as called for and I chopped and sliced all my veggies very thin. Thin I just prepared them as the fajita packing instructed. Also I would recommend brushing them litely with butter or water so they aren't so crispy. All in all though a wonderful recipe with lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 515) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Quesadillas

Make these kid-pleasing quesadillas in just minutes.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States