Chicken Quesadillas and Fiesta Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Quite a few people complained that this lacked flavor/was too bland. That was not the case for us! I made the following modifications: I cooked the chicken in butter with garlic salt, black pepper, crushed red pepper flakes, and a little McCormick taco seasoning. I added the cheddar cheese soup and the salsa, and blended until they had melted together. I tasted the sauce and found it was still a tiny bit on the bland side, so I added more black pepper and crushed red pepper. I made the fiesta rice with Uncle Ben's instant brown rice instead of white, and followed all of the same directions. I had to add an additional 1/2 cup of hot water at the end of the cook time to make sure the rice didn't burn and was cooked thoroughly. I added black pepper and crushed red pepper to the rice as well. These were spicy and delicious! My fiancé loved them, and ended up eating the chicken sans tortilla because the sauce was so good! Definitely a keeper! If you find yours is too bland, add your favorite spices! Stir, taste, and add some more! Cooking is an experiment...I never follow recipes exactly and they always turn out better for it! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FutureMrsCruz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
cooked chicken in crockpot with water. Used this broth for the rice. Added chedder cheese and milk to shredded chicken along with some taco seasoning. Sauted onions with oil. Added half the onions to shredded chicken. added 1 1/2 cups of rice and browned. Added chicken broth and a little extra water to equal 2 cups. added a little salsa and left un covered to be done quicker. Added chicken mixture to tortillas and bakes as directed. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Sorry but I didn't enjoy this at all, and neither did the kids. I think I will stick to my original chicken Quesadilla recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
My husband hates Mexican food but he loved this. It was cheesy and gooey, even the baby enjoyed it :) The rice turned out great also. Not your typical Mexican dish, but delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I used a McCormick fajita seasoning packet when cooking the chicken and mixed the soup and medium heat chunky salsa with it when it was nearly all evaporated and it came out spicy and amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This recipe is great, but it seems that there is something else needed in the quesadillas and I cant put my finger on what. The rice was absolutely amazing. I have fixed both twice now and will definitely be fixing it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Maddox
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
more like a cheap afterschool snack for the kids not a meal for the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This shocked me by being very simple and quick and tasty as well. My husband and children loved them and asked for them again. I do agree that (to me, at least) it seems like there's something missing.. I definitely could taste that it was mainly cheddar cheese soup making up the content of the quesadillas. I'll try maybe spicing it up more or adding some other type of sauce to it as well next time I make it. I will definitely make these again though - so quick and easy for something so enjoyable to everyone in my home. Recipes like this I hold on to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
It was good, but not great. I agree that there seems to be something missing in the Quesadillas - maybe a layer of refried beans would make them better? My grocery store doesn't carry canned Cheddar soup so instead we used shredded cheese and some milk - still came out great (maybe better?) We also added about half a cup of cheese to the rice and used real rice rather than instant - works the same. To add heat, use Cabot's Mexican Blend shredded cheese - I'm not really one for heat so we used the classic Fancy Blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
The first time I made this dish I was alittle affraid of how it was gonna come out. Now everyone wants to know when Im gonna make it again!! Great dish, easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States