Chicken Quesadillas and Fiesta Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This shocked me by being very simple and quick and tasty as well. My husband and children loved them and asked for them again. I do agree that (to me, at least) it seems like there's something missing.. I definitely could taste that it was mainly cheddar cheese soup making up the content of the quesadillas. I'll try maybe spicing it up more or adding some other type of sauce to it as well next time I make it. I will definitely make these again though - so quick and easy for something so enjoyable to everyone in my home. Recipes like this I hold on to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Quite a few people complained that this lacked flavor/was too bland. That was not the case for us! I made the following modifications: I cooked the chicken in butter with garlic salt, black pepper, crushed red pepper flakes, and a little McCormick taco seasoning. I added the cheddar cheese soup and the salsa, and blended until they had melted together. I tasted the sauce and found it was still a tiny bit on the bland side, so I added more black pepper and crushed red pepper. I made the fiesta rice with Uncle Ben's instant brown rice instead of white, and followed all of the same directions. I had to add an additional 1/2 cup of hot water at the end of the cook time to make sure the rice didn't burn and was cooked thoroughly. I added black pepper and crushed red pepper to the rice as well. These were spicy and delicious! My fiancé loved them, and ended up eating the chicken sans tortilla because the sauce was so good! Definitely a keeper! If you find yours is too bland, add your favorite spices! Stir, taste, and add some more! Cooking is an experiment...I never follow recipes exactly and they always turn out better for it! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FutureMrsCruz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I totslly agree regarding the lack of flavor and too gooey consistency although my 10yr old loved it! Next time I'll season the chicken w/pkg Taco seasoning and add only half can of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staunton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Haylee
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Excellent flavor, but I made the following changes: I added to the chicken 1 can of rinsed black beans and 1 small can of green chiles. I also added a fajita seasoning pack and this all added together gave the chicken a great flavor! The rice tasted fabulous, but I had to boil the rice for about 7 minutes with the rice in, and then let sit about 7 minutes to fluff. Great overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haylee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
My kids loved this, but it was a little too salty for my taste. I should have used fresh/frozen chicken breast but instead used can chicken. With the can chicken and the can soup, the salt content was a little high. Also, I added beans to make these go further. I will make these again, but I will not use can chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This was so good and easy to make! I don't know what condensed chicken broth is, nor does the supermarket have it, so I made the rice with regular chicken broth, and it all turned out yummy. Don't leave it in the oven more than 5 min because the tortillas will be too crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I made just the rice - good rice, tad bit dry, was excellent if you dip your fork in just a little sour cream with each bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I used a McCormick fajita seasoning packet when cooking the chicken and mixed the soup and medium heat chunky salsa with it when it was nearly all evaporated and it came out spicy and amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
As is is pretty bland but I added 1 can of black beans, drained, and some chili powder and extra cumin. Really added a great taste and fiber from the beans. My family really loves them this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I have been making these quesadillas for several years, and my family loves them. I used to use the seasoned Tyson chicken meat, but now I use chicken breast & sprinkle them with McCormick fajita seasoning before cooking...great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States