Chicken Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
i've made this for years but my version is a little easier & healthier: put 1 block lite cream cheese in bowl, stir together w/shredded chicken, green onions, and a smidge of milk just so it's a little "stirrable" (no butter) - sprinkle garlic salt on top of puffs before baking. excellent on their own OR with chicken gravy! yum! talk about comfort food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1807 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I'm sorry, but I find it really rude to rate a recipe 2 stars because one of the ingredients ''isn't something you would use''. The rating system is for recipes you have actually tried. Giving a recipe you haven't tried 2 stars because one of the ingredients isn't to your liking is just wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1732 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
I have had to make these by request for almost every gathering since I first discovered them over 3 years ago! They are fairly easy and make a good traveling snack too! I've sent them along with my husband in the cooler for fishing trips, the guys LOVE them cold right out of the cooler! One thing I can suggest to make them easier is to not worry about the shape of your finished puff. By the time they rise in the oven they are all pretty symmetrical. Just be careful not to get the filling on the outside and be sure to pich the seals together good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
716 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NDG42200

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
These were just too good to be true!! SOOO Delicious!! My suggestions is for the crescent rolls: By enough cans so that the amount equals 30 ounces, and then buy an extra can. That way, you won't run out of dough before running out of chicken mixture. Thanks for the recipe! I will definitely make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
579 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
I have made these for years but with a few slight differences. I use chive and onion cream cheese. I also saute mushrooms with garlic and toss it in the mixture as well. I omit the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
338 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy Cowan
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I've made these for a long time! I use 3 good size bone in breasts, boil them for about 15 to 20 min's, then shredd when cooled. I chop an onion into small pcs (not minced), saute them in butter and add salt and pepper. Add to chicken in a bowl with 1 large crm cheese and mix together, then bundle them in the crescents. Brushing them with egg white gives them a nice shine. The onions make ALL the difference!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
268 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Photo by Dana
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
This was delicious. I used garlic and basil while cooking the chicken and added it into the cream mixture. Also, this may seem like a no-brainer, but let the chicken cool a bit before you mix it with the cream as mine got really melty and it was hard to get them into the dough. They still turned out great tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
They now sell solid sheets of crescent dough, so you don’t have to press the individual rolls together. Cut each sheet into 4 pieces, makes it a lot easier to use. Also, line your pans with parchment paper for easier cleanup, should you have any leaks. I make these with the chicken, onion and garlic, and then add frozen chopped spinach (defrosted and squeezed dry), mixed with parmesan cheese and enough mayonnaise to moisten. I don’t use cream cheese or butter. I often use a Calzone filling, of onion, bell pepper and crumbled Italian sausage (cooked & well drained) mixed with pizza sauce and shredded mozzarella cheese. Cubed ham, broccoli and Swiss cheese is also good. You can substitute just about any combination of cooked meat, vegetables and cheese, mixed with enough mayonnaise, sour cream, or any type of sauce to moisten; even creamed soup (undiluted)) will work. Served with a salad, makes a nice dinner or cut into quarters for an appetizer. And don’t forget dessert, use fresh fruit, sliced and mixed with sweetened cream cheese. Drizzle baked and cooled puffs with a simple powdered sugar glaze. The possibilities are endless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I used canned chicken breast because it's much easier! I've also made this recipe using garlic flavored crescent rolls, and it turns out great too...very easy, and still good as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rolla, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
A little to cream-cheesy, but otherwise good. Don't use reduced fat crescent rolls--they don't cook quite as well as te regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 702) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Making Chicken Curry Puffs

Learn how to make an easy chicken and curry appetizer.

Chicken Puffs

These little bites are irresistible as an appetizer or entree.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States