Chicken Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
C'mon people.. How can this be bad with these ingredients? But sometimes you also have to use a little imagination in cooking. I could tell by reading it that it did not have enough flavor, some said bland, but that's no reason to "never make it again! I used the recipe as a base, I used 3 average chicken breasts instead of 2 and I sauteed them, the onion and garlic in a little olive oil, then I added salt and pepper (really that should be a given), then I also added to the cream mixture a liberal sprinkling of onion powder and Mrs Dash Garlic and Herb. I cut the butter, could tell with the cream cheese it wasn't needed. Instead, I pulled them out of the oven about 2 minutes from being done, brushed them with melted butter, sprinkled on parmesan cheese and some parsley and finished them till browned. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
This recipe is delicious as is, but also has other possibilities. Instead of butter, I mixed about a half cup of sour cream to chive and onion cream cheese, and added garlic, onion, and poultry seasoning. Sprayed with oil and sprinkled with sesame seeds before baking. The homestyle flavor is reminiscent of chicken pot pie so you could easily add carrots and peas, glaze the tops with rosemary jelly, or add cheese. Alternatively, to lighten it up, you could add chopped fresh basil or a few tablespoons of pesto sprinkle the tops with grated parmesan and serve it alongside a fresh marinara. You could also add cumin and chili powder and serve it with a cilantro cream sauce. Puff pastry would be divine as well. Substantial yet inexpensive protein for a party. Two chicken breasts yielded about 20 palm sized balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daddy Rhon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Made these last night, followed the recipe exactly. Although the recipe states 12, I'm not sure where that number comes from. I had 24, which was 3 cans of croissants. Anyways, they are amazingly delicious! One reviewer suggested letting the chicken cool first, which is sound advice because my mix was very runny and I had a really hard time sealing up the edges. I had a fair amount of leakage during the baking process, but they were still perfect and delicious. Will def make a again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
My husband and I really liked these I might decrease the butter and increase the cream cheese next time though. I did use chive flavored cream cheese so the flavors were fairly strong, but my husband and I like it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Delicious! I didn't have time to cook chicken, so I used canned chicken. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Wonderful, but one catch: The printed recipe says to place the mixture "on each rectangle," but the video shows and says "triangle." May want to revise for less experienced cooks who may get confused and think that two perforated triangles on the dough should be combined to make one rectangle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
use garlic herb cream cheese as part of recipe for the stuffing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Mmm I can already tell these won't last long at my house! I used the healthy recommendation of some reviewers and didn't use butter, just a little splash of milk. I also used low-fat cream cheese and crescent rolls. They taste amazing and I can't wait to customize with new fillings! I used Perdue Short Cuts to make it easier too. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noelleabell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I changed LOTS about this recipe so it's probably not fair to rate it a five. I cooked two small in onions in about 4T butter over low heat. Added about five medium carrots cut into small pieces and cooked until tender. Added 4T flour and cooked about 3 minutes. Added a cup and a half of warm milk along with some nutmeg and fresh rosemary and cooked until thickened. Then I added about two cups of grated zucchini and cooked another few minutes. I boiled the chicken - three large breasts - and added it in. When I put them all together I had quite a bit of filling left over, but I probably could have stuffed them more. Alternately I could have used less zucchini. I baked them in a muffin tin which worked really well. I'm think that next time I'll make one big pie instead of fussing around with all the little bitty puffs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Girl in Beige

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 718) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Making Chicken Curry Puffs

Learn how to make an easy chicken and curry appetizer.

Chicken Puffs

These little bites are irresistible as an appetizer or entree.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States