Chicken Provolone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
I gave this recipe 5 stars, but I made some changes because I used what I had on hand. After cutting the recipe in half, I substituted Cream of Broccoli soup, added some minced garlic, and substituted swiss cheese. To cut down the wine I used 1/2 cup wine and 1/2 cup lowfat milk. Lastly, I added 1 cup of water to the stuffing so that it would be moist. I cooked it for 30 minutes covered, removed the cover and cooked an additional 15-20 minutes. It really was a tasty dish, and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
This is a difficult recipe to rate only due to the fact that the directions were not very clear to me. I couldn't imagine that you would not prepare the stuffing in advance, however, the directions did not ask to do so. Fortunately I do read all reviews and apparently others felt the same as I, so I did make the stuffing on top of the stove first. This would, as other reviewers stated to be quite a salty dish, so I used "healthy" cream of chicken soup. Others said that the dish was rather bland, so I not only seasoned my chicken, but also the soup, to which I used beer and not wine (I was out). To make it more interesting, I sauteed onions and portabello mushrooms and added that to the layers on top of the chicken. Not a lot of changes here, but just a few things to enhance the dish. All in all Ashbeth, this is a very good recipe that my whole family truly loved. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I have very little experience with cooking. (I'm just trying to help the wifey when I can). But I followed the directions carefully and also read the reviews. The dish turned out great and my wife and daughter love it! Thanks! Here are a couple of changes I tried: 1. I cut the chicken into small strips. That made it easier to serve (especially for children). It also helped when checking to see if the chicken was cooked by pulling out a small piece. I also used 12 pieces rather than 8 so we could eat it for two nights. 2. I sauteed 1/2 onion, 3 table spoons minced garlic, 5 mushrooms, parsley, and oregano in about 1/2 cup of butter . Then I spread that over the chicken. Next time my wife suggested that I could even marinate the chicken in the sautee for a while. 3. I used about 5-6oz of wine because of the other reviews. But I didn't really taste it. I might use about 8-9oz next time. 4. I used 2 slices of cheese over each breast. Again, I didn't realy taste it. I think I might go with 3 next time. 5. I used too much cream of chicken soup (about 30oz). The dish was a little too liquidy. Next time I'll probably use about 20oz. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
this is sooooo good! I put 2 slices of provolone per boneless, skinless chicken breast. I also moistened the stuffing with boiling water as I prefer very moist stuffing. I covered it with foil and baked it for 1 hour.This would be a good dish to serve company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
I really liked this one, but substituted chicken broth for the wine. Added a bit of parsley and oregano with the soup/broth mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NURSE24HR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pisgah Forest, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
this was very good and very quick and easy to prepare. i played with the recipe a bit by sauteing minced garlic and diced onion in butter and adding to the soup/wine mixture. it really kicked up the flavor. i too added boiling water to the stuffing to make it moist. my fiance enjoyed it, he had two servings. i will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
A very tasty chicken dish Ashbeth.I didn't have to change a thing. The sauce is too thin for gravy, but a little cornstarch could help that out. The flavor had a pleasing subtle white wine flavor. Not to overpowering. This is a very simple dish with no frills that company would also enjoy. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This is nearly identical to a recipe I found in a Gooseberry Patch cookbook (without the white wine) and is AMAZING. This has become one of the regulars on our table during the colder months. I noticed a couple of reviewers were confused by the directions telling them to use dry stuffing mix. It's true! :) DO NOT PRE-COOK THE STUFFING! The bread combined with the butter gives the finished dish some much needed and absolutely delicious crunch. Precooked it's more mushy. So be brave...put that dry stuffing on! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
Ok I used all the ingredients for this dish, but I put it together differently. I "stuffed" the chicken with the stuffing mix (already prepared). Then layered with the soup mixture and added the cheese to the top. I also reduced the amount of wine a bit because of the other reviewers comments about the strong taste. I will definately use again. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
I used chicken broth rather than wine to make this kid friendly and my 20 month old loved it! You really couldn't taste the cheese at all, but overall, this wasn't a bad recipe. I think it might also be good with cheddar cheese soup, so you have two cheese chicken--that's what I'll try next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Oh-So-Good Chicken

This cheesy chicken and rice casserole stars salsa, sour cream, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States