Chicken Potpie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Bassetgirl
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I seasoned the chicken with McCormick tomato, basil marinade and cooked it on a Forman grill. A must if you ask me. Also I added some thyme to the filling. All the rest is very good and it turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bassetgirl
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Made a giant batch of this and put it in 4" pie tins and froze them after baking. My boys love them! Very easy to personalize. I replaced the peas with broccoli since none of us like peas and omitted the corn. This is also easy to make gluten/dairy free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blankenmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Can't go wrong with this one. I left out the corn as it looked like it was going to be too much filling and thought I could eliminate that starch. Worked perfect! Served with thinly sliced danjou pears as a finger food side...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by idagal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This is the best potpie I've made. I leave out the peas because the family won't eat them and put a can of green beans in it's place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet1219
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I wanted a chicken pot pie that was easy but didn't use cream soups in it. This is such a great recipe. I've made some changes at times but mostly just follow the recipe as written. For instance, I've used puff pastry or phyllo dough for the crust. I won't use the phyllo dough again but we love the puff pastry. With potatoes and corn I feel that there are enough starch veggies in it so I will use green beens, french beans, cooked broccoli, or frozen mixed veggies in different configurations. I have served this for many special occasions for guests and they think I slave over the dish. Haha! so easy and sometimes I'm serving the frozen one and they never know! I have also used leftover turkey or beef and then used beef broth instead of chicken. Also great to bring to people who need a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy Grace
Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Casnovia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
YUMMM. Best chicken pot pie I've ever had or made, hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel B-House

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
excellent recipe! i've used this for a few years now and it is definitely the best chicken pot pie recipe. try it, you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This recipe is my husband's FAVORITE dish that I make for him. He gets very excited when we finds out it is on the menu for dinner. =) Best dinner ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This is the best chicken pot pie filling I've ever used. I made my own crust and the combination of the homemade crust and this filling made it turn out amazing. I will definitely be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I made this last night for some friends who were coming for dinner. I had chicken already cooked. It was time consuming, but things like this usually are and it's worth the time. I followed the recipe pretty much the way it's written except that I used basil instead of thyme. I used the pie crust recipe on here "Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust" which I had tried before for cherry pie. I made 1 1/2x the crust recipe to have enough for 2 pies. I ended up having extra filling and extra crust, enough to make a mini pie for my husband to take to work. Everyone raved! The filling is very rich and flavorful, and although the butter and shortening are not the healthiest, this will be my go-to pot pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States