Chicken Pot Pie VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
first time making this... was sooooooo good! used premade pie crust - will make my own next time just to compare if it makes a difference with the outcome. it was still good as pillsbury makes a great pie crust! left out mushrooms (for my son) but he may lose that battle next time it would have added a great flavor. the sauce is so good. we barely have any left over! I used a small casserole oval shape dish and used up all the filling. I could see where you would be able to make two pies out of this if you used pie pans. To sum it up 5 big stars, will make again and again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
One of the best I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
this is SO good! I was so happy that I was able to make a dairy-free chicken pot pie! I substituted the butter for olive oil, and it turned out great. I also sauted the potato cubes in olive oil until they were almost soft, and they were crispy and brown on the outside. It's worth the extra effort, in my opinion! I left out the mushrooms (yuck) and also added garlic. I took other reviewers advice and put the filling into 2 pies... which I regretted. they were too skimpy, and I don't think it's way too much filling for 1 pie, like others said. Maybe that's personal preference, or maybe I used smaller potatoes, carrots, etc? don't know... but either way.. it's SO good and doesn't turn out runny or soggy. mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This was the best Pot Pie i've ever had! I used Pillsbury Pie Crust and put egg whites on both the top and bottom and followed the directions of another reviewer and added 1/2 C milk to the broth. Cant wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I liked this recipe because of it's simplicity, but spiced it up a bit with fresh rosemary and a little lemon juice and grated provalone to the sauce. Also I added some garlic and yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
The best pot-pie ever! My family was so disappointed when I didn't make another one the next day! Followed directions to a T, no changes needed. THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Love this chicken pot pie! Having said that, I have learned to parboil my celery, carrots and potatoes. No matter how small you chop them, they are still crunchy if you don't. Also, I usually use a store bought crust, just don't have the time/desire to make my own most of the time. Finally, to cut down a bit on fat, I will just use a top crust sometimes too. Just made one with some leftover turkey I had frozen and it was DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fiona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This is a great recipe! My son raved about it and has been requesting it since I made it last week for the first time. I used leftover roasted chicken that I flavored with garlic, onion, celery etc. and I also used the broth from that chicken. The gravy for the pie was delicious and just the right thickness. No gooey canned soup that tastes processed. I cooked the veggies and potatoes in the broth for a bit to soften them. Only one thing I will mention regarding the crust, after about 4 TBS of water, just add one at a time. You will need more or less depending on the humidity in the air.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Brenner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I boiled chicken in broth until no longer pink, then added potatoes and carrots. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
not bad but the recipe didnt specify cooking the potatoes and carrots... maybe im just an idiot but ive never made a homemade pot pie before and now i know how to do it right! cook the veggies well first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Drouillard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States