Chicken Pot Pie VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I precooked the veggies first, added a dash of garlic powder and used refrigerated pie crust. It was hearty, meaty and divine. We couldn't finish it tonight, sure hope it reheats well. This a keeper everybody!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Blair Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Good recipe, except make sure everything is cooked BEFORE you put it in the pie - other than that it's a good recipe. I half-cooked my potatoes in the microwave but they didn't get cooked further, and the carrots stayed crunchy. I sauteed the onions, two cloves garlic, and the celery together before mixing with the flour etc. Furthermore I recommend blind-baking the bottom pastry crust before adding the filling to make sure it's cooked too. (I used store-bought puff pastry). Lastly I think the recipe will benefit from addition of herbs such as thyme and rosemary but I guess this is according to each person's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I constantly make this, but always leave out the mushrooms. I always get rave reviews and it is requested for birthdays and special events! Perfect for gifting a meal as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mcgeefam
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This is a great pot pie recipe. I'll be making it again for sure. My husband was very excited to hear this is what we were having for dinner last night, and sure enough, he loved it!! The only thing I changed was I omitted the mushrooms by personal preference. It worked out good because with the rest of the ingredients it was a VERY full pie! Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcgeefam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This was absolutely delicious!! I followed the receipe very closely. Left out the mushroom and celery and put in peas instead. The flavor of the filling was the best! I used pre-made pie crusts which were good. The only problem I encountered was that the gravy seemed to dry out during baking. I'll try more broth in the gravy next time. And, I had more filling than my 9" deep dish pie crust would hold. But, that's not a bad thing!Next time i think I'll try individual pies so I can take them to work for lunch. This is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I used a pre-made crust so I can't say anything about the crust recipe here but the filling recipe is very good. Very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
first time making this... was sooooooo good! used premade pie crust - will make my own next time just to compare if it makes a difference with the outcome. it was still good as pillsbury makes a great pie crust! left out mushrooms (for my son) but he may lose that battle next time it would have added a great flavor. the sauce is so good. we barely have any left over! I used a small casserole oval shape dish and used up all the filling. I could see where you would be able to make two pies out of this if you used pie pans. To sum it up 5 big stars, will make again and again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
One of the best I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
this is SO good! I was so happy that I was able to make a dairy-free chicken pot pie! I substituted the butter for olive oil, and it turned out great. I also sauted the potato cubes in olive oil until they were almost soft, and they were crispy and brown on the outside. It's worth the extra effort, in my opinion! I left out the mushrooms (yuck) and also added garlic. I took other reviewers advice and put the filling into 2 pies... which I regretted. they were too skimpy, and I don't think it's way too much filling for 1 pie, like others said. Maybe that's personal preference, or maybe I used smaller potatoes, carrots, etc? don't know... but either way.. it's SO good and doesn't turn out runny or soggy. mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This was the best Pot Pie i've ever had! I used Pillsbury Pie Crust and put egg whites on both the top and bottom and followed the directions of another reviewer and added 1/2 C milk to the broth. Cant wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States