Chicken Pot Pie VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by patty5826
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Great recipe .. I added more veggies & used can biscuits but overall... Yummy .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
My husband and I loved this recipe. I didn't have fresh carrots so, I used the carrots from a bag of Stir Fry veggies, also added the broccoli from the bag. I used a can of mushroom pieces, I had on hand. The potatoes I used were 4 small New Potatoes that I par boiled to make it easier to peel. Once all the veggies were chopped, I added them to the sautéed Onions and flour and let them cook until tender. I didn't add any salt because I used chicken broth I had made before, from my freezer. Instead of a pie pan, I decided to use individual aluminum 2 cup size "baked bean" pans. This recipe filled four. The pie crust was the best I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This was delicious! I did cheat and bought a crust, but followed the rest of the recipe. IMPORTANT: COOK THE POTATOES FIRST! Maybe boil them for a while. I didn't...since the recipe didn't specify, I thought that maybe they would just cook up while baking. They didn't...they were raw, and we had to pick them out. We also used frozen carrots/peas/corn for the veggies...and they came out just fine. The gravy was soooo simple to make, and was so delicious! I will definitely make this again...and I will cook the poataoes first when I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This was delicious! I haven't eaten pot pies since I was a kid (shy away from high calories). However, my husband raved about this recipe and it reminded me of my youth. I did add more flour to thicken up the "gravy", but I had no problem filling a deep 9" pie. I also added extra onion and some garlic salt while sautéing the veggies first. I agree that the veggies needed to be cooked before assembling the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
the family loved this. I substituted broccoli and peas from my garden for the mushrooms and cooked the vegetables for a bit in the sauce. They were perfectly cooked al dente when the pie was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I just made this today and had to return to write a review. This is by far the best I have ever made. I think the only thing I might do is add a few more tbsp of flour, as I like my filling very thick. Otherwise it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I made this with leftover turkey and already made gravy from our Christmas dinner. I used two premade pie crusts and put it in a 13 X 9 baking dish insread of pie plates. It was absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
In almost 45 years of cooking I don't think I have ever made a pot pie. Awesome recipe! Perfect sauce. I cheated and used premade crust but this deserves homemade next time. I also steamed the potatoes and other vegies ahead of time so I could use bigger chunks. This will be added to the rotation. I made extra filling so I used a 9 x 13 dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States