Chicken Pot Pie VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
A favorite of mine! I use my own pie crust recipe. Definitely boil the cubed potatoes for a few minutes to soften, so they're done when the rest of the pie is. I sometimes substitute peas for the celery. Overall a fantastic recipe. Great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jakethebug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Crust was great! Overall a very good recipe. I feel I need to point out that anytime a roux is involved it's full thickening potential is not realized until you have let it boil for a few minutes. I allowed mine to boil while I simmered a half cup of heavy cream. I added the cream to the soup. I let this simmer a few minutes more, until it coated the back of my wooden spoon. I think the cream did wonders for the pot pie. I felt I was back in my Grandmother's Southern kitchen! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Silverhill, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I use this recipie but I but ready made crust. mmm mmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This is by far the best recipe I have tried so far on this site. Absolutely delicious, authentic, comforting, homemade goodness! I used puff pastry instead of making the crust but other than that, changed nothing. Try this, you won't be disappointed! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GardenGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Loved the crust! Great chicken pot pie and will be making this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeahDerks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ponchatoula, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
LOVE this recipe!! My kids think it's great so it's definately a keeper. It really does make enough for almost three pies though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna Mccoy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I made this to a t the first time how can you rate a recipe if you change it.2cnd time i did not have a 9inch pie plate so i used an 9x9inch pan added some oregano and some peas and threw in some cheddar cheese I had leftover about half a cup. this is wayyyyyyyy to much filling for one pie as others have said so make two pie crusts.My roommate tried this for the first time and said hes never moving out.Hes not used to homemade cooking so ive done spoiled him.A definate try if this is your first time.Alot of work but if followed will come out good.and the crust is the key make sure to use lard makes it so flaky and easy to work with.I use the pie crust recipe anytime i need one for a fruit pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vickie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Awesome! A recipe that doesn't rely on condensed soup to make the sauce. I sauted the chicken breasts, de glazed the pan and then browned the veggies slightly in the same pan. It adds yummy depth of flavor. I made the roux in the same pan, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RI convert

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I made this a couple of months ago. It was out of this world! The only thing I did was to add more carrots and leave out the mushrooms because not all of us like mushrooms in my family. Next time I'm going to add some green beans, peas and maybe corn and stretch it to three small pies rather than one pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Absolutely wonderful! I used my own pastry though but followed the rest of the recipe. It made quiet alot of filling so I think I'll half the chicken and vegetables next time. Will definately be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States