Chicken Pot Pie VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Very good, as others have said there is too much filling. I was really surprised how flavorfull it was. I used Flaky Food Processor Pie Crust recipe, as a short cut, which was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder Creek, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
YUM... I love that this recipe didn't use any "cream of soups"... I did purchase the pie crust because I stink at rolling out pie dough! For the chicken I boiled 4 thighs along with celery, carrot, onion, bay leaf, garlic, salt & pepper to make my own stock. I strained it and used the cooked carrots; added "cooked" green beans and potatoes... Super de duper! :) Message to self: 1/2 the roux ingredients, add potatoes and filling to roux, keep on low heat, add 1 tsp. rubbed sage, 1/4 tsp. thyme then add enough broth until desired thickness. Freeze remaining stock when cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Loved it! Added Calle de Pollo (loose chicken bouillon) to the pastry. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Fantastic pie recipe, but too much filling for the amount of pastry. Will make twice as much pastry next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Delicious, but make sure to cook the carrots and potatoes first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marie14513
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I made this recipe and it was wonderful. I Did cook the veg. and others commented on.. I would also recommend this step.. I also added some extra spice to the recipe.. I had never made home made crust.. This was also a plus.. Now I am hooked and I am going to make some beef pot pies.. I also cooked the bottom shell till it was lightly brown.. I made small dishes with the left over filling and pie crust.. These were the best.. Just a top crust.. Cooked them at work for 3 days in a row.. I would make the gravy double next time I cook this. But it is a 5 star recipe in opinion. Thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marie14513

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Very tasty, but put biscuits on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
mmm!! i can smell it already, or is that my mom cooking dinner?! oh well either way, it is chicken pot pie for dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Fantastic. I used Kroger's premade pie crust to save on time and had to add some extra flour to the gravy to get it to thicken. Next time I think I will use steam in the bag frozen veggies to save time chopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I made this recipe yesterday for my husband and a couple of friends, and they raved about it. It was the first chicken pot pie i've ever made (let alone from scratch). And it was relatively simple and quick. I followed some of the review suggestions by pre-cooking the potatoes, and it turned out perfect. Instead of cooking it in a pie plate, I used a large round casserole dish and made one large pot pie, and I had no troubles with having too much filling as some of the other reviewers had. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States