Chicken Pot Pie VIII Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This recipe, with a few minor changes I made (listed in my profile), got rave reviews from my super-picky family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This one is a keeper- a classic pot pie taste. The crust recipe is delish. Double the crust, because there will be just enough filling for two pies. I added peas instead of mushrooms and boiled raw, cubed chicken breasts with the veggies (minus the peas) for about 15-20 mins like in Chicken Pot Pie IX. Then used the liquid for the broth, and didn't even need any bouillon to boost the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I used premade crust but pot pie still turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
What a great way to use leftovers. Simple, quick and great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Very good, as others have said there is too much filling. I was really surprised how flavorfull it was. I used Flaky Food Processor Pie Crust recipe, as a short cut, which was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder Creek, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
YUM... I love that this recipe didn't use any "cream of soups"... I did purchase the pie crust because I stink at rolling out pie dough! For the chicken I boiled 4 thighs along with celery, carrot, onion, bay leaf, garlic, salt & pepper to make my own stock. I strained it and used the cooked carrots; added "cooked" green beans and potatoes... Super de duper! :) Message to self: 1/2 the roux ingredients, add potatoes and filling to roux, keep on low heat, add 1 tsp. rubbed sage, 1/4 tsp. thyme then add enough broth until desired thickness. Freeze remaining stock when cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Loved it! Added Calle de Pollo (loose chicken bouillon) to the pastry. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Fantastic pie recipe, but too much filling for the amount of pastry. Will make twice as much pastry next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Delicious, but make sure to cook the carrots and potatoes first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marie14513
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I made this recipe and it was wonderful. I Did cook the veg. and others commented on.. I would also recommend this step.. I also added some extra spice to the recipe.. I had never made home made crust.. This was also a plus.. Now I am hooked and I am going to make some beef pot pies.. I also cooked the bottom shell till it was lightly brown.. I made small dishes with the left over filling and pie crust.. These were the best.. Just a top crust.. Cooked them at work for 3 days in a row.. I would make the gravy double next time I cook this. But it is a 5 star recipe in opinion. Thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marie14513

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States