Chicken Pot Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by danigurrl
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Very good. I changed the recipe slightly. I made a double batch for 2 pot pies. I cut the chicken into strips then pan fried it in light olive oil and seasoned it with thyme and Italian seasoning before cutting it into cubes. I also don't care for the strong taste of onions, so I sliced up a medium size Leek and sautéed it with a tablespoon of butter and a dash of black pepper in a small sauce pan. For veggies I used potatoes and a can of sweet corn. I used 2 cans of cream of chicken soup and 1 can of cream of mushroom. Lastly, I added about ½ cup of Almond Milk (or you could use any type of cow’s milk or even soy, I just has almond milk on hand) to make it a little creamier. I also added an additional teaspoon of thyme into the mixture. I used the 2 pie crusts, one of the bottom of the pan and one covering the mixture, brushed with beaten egg to make it golden brown. I kept the rest of the recipe the same with the cheeses, cooking times, etc. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danigurrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Photo by ladygrenadine
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
was really yummy! I ended up with extra filling so I made some mini pies to freeze! followed the recipe almost exactly and was totally impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladygrenadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
AWESOME. Best chicken pot pie I've ever made. I used this recipe as a starting point and added more to it - my pot pie ended up as a "kitchen sink" pot pie. I added hot sausage and red & green bell peppers to the chicken and other veggies... The result was scrumptious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I have found my permanent chicken pot pie recipe! Everyone really liked this. I cut up the chicken before boiling it and added extra seasonings after draining off the water. I also only used half of the cheese, and it had plenty of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This is comfort! I have made it several times to give to new mom's and the like. They always like it. Something you can freeze and cook later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1craftycook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This recipe was simple and tasted delicious!! I changed it up by using fresh veggies like corn, peas, carrots and broccoli and made 3 individual (mini bread loaf size) pot pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jayne
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Love this pot pie - no need for me to look any further. I usually double this recipe, using only one crust (bottom) and topping it with cheese instead of the other crust - great way to make one for us/someone else who may need a dinner (new mom, etc.) I add Italian seasoning and a few dashs of garlic powder, omit mushrooms if I don't have any onhand. Using rotisserie chicken makes this incredibly tasty - going to try it with canned chicken for ease (and will always have ingredients onhand if that works out.) Effortless and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Delicious! I have made this twice and loved it both time! It is very easy to make. To cut down on time, I buy a cooked rotisserie chicken and just add it to the mix. Next time I will add potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kateshreds
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Amazing. Absolutely amazing. So cheesy! My husband and I LOVE this! He is always begging me to bake this and it is pretty quick and easy! I substitute cheddar cheese soup for the mushroom soup, were not a big fan of mushrooms. Sooo delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kateshreds

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Lake, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States