Chicken Pot Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
This was the most awesome chicken pot pie ever!!! I used a whole onion and an 8 oz. container of sliced mushrooms from the produce aisle...I also used cream of chicken and cream of celery....that's what I had on hand. I also used fat free cheeses and 98% fat free soups and just added 1/2 cup skim milk. I bought 2 Pillsbury pie crusts and used all but one half of one to make the crust in a 9x13 casserole dish....I used the extra pastry to make flower embellishments on the crust. Will definitely make this again!!! Make sure and brush your crust with an egg wash to get it nice and golden and crunchy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BASSETTMAN
Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This is one of my familys fave`s! I modify the recipe a bit by using a casserole dish to layer my chopped chicken on bottom,then I add my veggies etc. on top of that and the cheese is on top of that.I make a crust for the top by using 2 cups of self-rising flour,a stick of butter(real buuter) and chicken broth to make a batter that I pour on top and bake til brown.This is moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Worley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
Excellent recipe! I made it last night and my husband and I loved it. I've never made chicken pot pie before, so I was a little worried, but I followed the recipe and it turned out great. My husband even took the leftovers to work today for some of his coworkers to try! Thanks Angie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
At first glance i thought this would be a fantastic recipe. But after i made it for my family.... not so good. The inside of the pie was too runny, it did not thicken up at all. If i make it again i will definately use less soup or more chicken. The mushrooms also didnt help with the runny appearance, as they cook they tend to make excess liquid. And i will be sure to use other suggestions and use fresh vegies. The frozen made the pie taste really bland. Just not tast enough for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ange Rayner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
Ohh sooo good!! I prefer to make individual pot pies so I prepared everything as shown except I used Grands Flaky Crust Biscuits and lined the top and bottom of individual corning ware bowls, cooked for about 26 min. The crust was golden and flaky, the filling was hot and cheesy, my husband went back for seconds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
This is very yummy and my husband raved about it. The only thing I added was 3 potatos, chopped and boiled. It's a great recipe for a cold winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
Oh, this is just FABULOUS!! I used a sheet of pie crust for the bottom, and a sheet of puff pastry dough for the top, which I sprinkled with a little Parmesan and nutmeg. I added a splash of dry white wine to the filling as well. And I used a can of Vegall instead of frozen veggies. Just downright sinfully yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
This was a great recipe that helped me please over 70 people at my church! A quick suggestion, you can Pilsbury Crescent dough for your pastry dough. (available in bulk at wholesale stores)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Best pot pie EVER! My family loves this dish. The cheese is not at all overpowering. It makes it oh sooo gooey and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Lynn  Pullman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Butte, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This was delicious, easy to make and great as leftovers the next day. I cut back on the cheese and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States