Chicken Pot Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Very good recipe I made a few modifications. I boil my chicken breasts with celery tops onion and garlic, s&p and use the broth created for this recipe. I also use a bag of frozen veg no need to cook before hand. I layer the cubed chicken, frozen veggies sprinkle with s&p and then pour the gravy on top. I always have enough gravy and I even use a deep pie dish. The only other suggestion would be more salt to the gravy, I just keep tasting until it tastes right. One more thing.. it always turns out better with a homemade pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Landice Acosta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I make the individual ones and freeze them! Perfect for us Empty Nesters! Just take two out to start defrosting the day before and put in fridge. Bake as directed. And I've made this exactly as the recipe is written. LOVE IT!!! Tweaking to add other ingredients works well too! If adding potatoe be aware it does absorb some juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I will use 1 tsp of salt next time. Other than that, perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I made pot pie for the first time tonight, and it was amazing!!! I did change a couple of things. I boiled the chicken and the vegetables together and added a couple cubes of chicken bouillon (I use Knorr from the latin food section because it has more flavor) then used that as the broth. I did not add the seasoning to until the gravy was thick and I could taste it since the broth was already flavored. I seasoned it to taste with some salt, pepper, as well as Goya Adobo. I also mixed the chicken and vegetables and gravy together before going on the crust. I followed the advice from others and baked it at 275 for 40 minutes with an egg glaze. Results were really great!!! Can't wait to make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I have made this recipe a few times and will continue to make it for a very long time. My family absolutely loves it! We have kids ranging from 2 to 11 and everyone enjoys it. That's hard to do!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Love it! My first time making Chicken Pot Pie from scratch & it was great! I used the 'oil pastry crust' from the 'Better Homes and Gardens cookbook' from the 1970's {the red & white plaid one}, the crust complimented the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This recipe is amazing, but I always end up with too much sauce and I don't even double the sauce recipe like everyone else. How long does everyone cook it to make it so thick? I might be doing something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Used some leftover chicken breasts that were already cooked. I've already made this recipe twice. The first time I used chicken thigh, de-boned them, removed the skin, cooked them first. Then did the onions & butter, flour. I make my own chicken broth so I used that. Let everything thicken up & added chickent & frozen mixed vegetables. It was delicious, my boyfriend ate the entire pan the same night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Excellent flavor. I substituted frozen mixed vegetables for the peas and carrots. I think I'll try adding potatoes next time. Will make more of the liquid to compensate for the thickening quality of the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Great, quick meal. Easy to throw your own touch's on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Cash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 6,316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States