Chicken Pot Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
This is a hit at my house. No leftovers. Can't give 5 stars, because I do change a few things: 1) Cook the chicken, carrots and a whole red potato in a crock pot w/ chicken stock, thyme, garlic, salt & pepper. I keep the baby carrots & potato whole so they don't get too mushy. This way, the prep time is reduced & you can prepare quickly after work, because half the steps are taken care of! 2) I used 2/3c milk, 3ish cups of the stock from the crock pot, when making the pot pie sauce. So much more flavor! 3) brush the bottom crust w/ egg & pre-bake for 5 min. 4) Add peas to the sauce & fold in chicken, carrots, etc... at the end since they are already cooked. 5) Check seasoning to taste 6) Add top crust & brush egg yolk 7)bake at 400 until golden brown. This version will hold up when cut, but have a nice amount of sauce to ooze out and be super moist and amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lawrenceburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Love this! I read a few of the reviews and followed the advice of several raters. My modification was I used a couple of boxes of mixed frozen vegetables and I used chicken legs instead which I season the night before and boiled them in chicken broth and then removed skin and chopped up. This receipe is so easy and only costed .62 cents a serving because I had enough to make two pies! Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Murphy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Delicious, instead of flour I used chick pea flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Love Love Love this recipe!!! Best Chicken Pot Pie ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This is a great recipe! My family loves this pie...especially on a homemade piecrust, which makes it tasty even when reheating. (we use Grammy's Piecrust recipe in my recipe box) The best we've had this, though, instead of boiling the chicken & veg, I used the leftovers from a roasted chicken we ate earlier that week & put it in...the combo of dark & light meat add a new level of flavor to this dish I highly recommend! The veggies (and we don't stick to just what is here, toss in whatever you have) I just put in the pie raw & they cooked up fine. I used 'better than bouillon' to make my own broth...but would've used broth from a boiled chicken if I had it available at the time. We will make this again & again! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This is an incredible recipe that is super easy to adjust to taste. It is definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Wonderful but a little too oniony!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I followed most of the reviews and made double sauce.....and this was incredible! I ate two pieces, as did my 4 year old. I used the broth that I cooked the chicken and veggies in, and seasoned that as well as the sauce. Will definitely be fixing this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Easy to make and delicious! Everyone in my family enjoyed this! I would say I will add a little more salt next time ! But turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 6,474) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States