Chicken Pot Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Tara Jane
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I did some of the recommendations mentioned: added 1/4 tsp of garlic powder, 1cup of corn, and cooked the chicken mixture in 2cups of broth instead of water. When I added all the extra broth and milk in it took an extra 20 minutes in the oven to thicken up but it was worth the wait! Delish! Instead of pie crust I topped it with puff pastry in the last half an hour of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
AWARD WINNING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I see no reason to alter this recipe. It's fantastic as-is if followed precisely, definitely not too dry. Fantastic recipe, and one of my family's favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Great tasting dish. I added one cubed potato but was very impressed with how easy it was to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony Milazzo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mbutlerp
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Loved this. Instead of crust on top, I used some mashed potatoes, a couple if pats of butter and sprinkled with paprika. To the sauce I added 1/4 Cup white and pinch if poultry seasoning. I also added sliced fresh mushrooms to the veggies. This was my first attempt at chicken pot pie and it was amazing!!! I uploaded a photo but I don't know where it went.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Made the recipe as written and it came out amazing. Delicious and easy. Only thing I would recommend is using a deep dish pie shell. I purchased standard 9" frozen pie shells and it was a bit small. Of course you could always make the shell from scratch I suppose. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
This is a crowd pleaser. I use it with No Fail Pie Crust II and always double up on the veggies/celery seed and go a little heavier handed with the sauce ingredients. It's fun to switch up the fillings; red potatoes, corn and bacon are fun. I ALWAYS add garlic with the onion, add a little thyme, red pepper and onion powder. For large crowds make enough dough for two pies and bake in a 9x9 cake pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
The seasonings were fine, only the method was slightly off. As others have noted don't boil the veggies in water - it's easiest to just sauté them in the butter until medium soft. I had previously simmered an entire chicken and deboned it .. Stored in the freezer for a later meal with the broth in another container. After sautéing the veggies, I added the flour and continued sautéing for 3 or 4 minutes. The only veggie addition I made was 8 oz of chunky chopped mushrooms to the veggie mixture. Add the cool broth and milk, and continue to cook until it's the thickness you want. You can also add a little Kitchen Bouquet if you want a little darker sauce. Since I was using an entire chicken, my pie was very meaty, but that's what my guys want it. I mixed about 1/2 the chicken in with the veggies, and spread the rest in the bottom of the pie pan. Then poured the mixture on top. It came out perfect. Hint: this is very similar to Chef John's chicken and biscuits recipe. You just make the chicken mixture and put biscuits on the top instead of using a double crust pie. Will certainly try this again ... Maybe even make my own crusts next time ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I made extra sauce and it was perfect! I topped with phyllo as the crust. I filled this with all sorts of veggies...carrots, potatoes, peas, corn, broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
The recipe is very basic. I tasted the liquid filling before pouring in, and it tasted bland. I added some Spanish adobo and a few different Italian seasonings. It turned out pretty good in the end. I also think it's important to mention spray your pie pan before putting in your crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drwolff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 6,347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States