Chicken Pot Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
This is great, as is. It's spectacular with mushrooms, and/or diced potatoes. The one thing I do differently, regardless, is to mix veggies/chicken together with gravy before pouring into crust to incorporate everything first. Everyone in my family loves this. I also use the cooking liquid as my broth.... why waste it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Carey-Bradley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Cloutier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Wow! We all loved this :-) I fixed the filling in the crock pot all day to make life easier. This is now a regular on our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Bedfordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Angola, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Delicious! I used onion salt (instead of plain salt) and poultry seasoning in my pie crust. I also added a cubed potato and increased the milk in the chicken filling. I used a deep dish ceramic pie plate so it held all of the filling perfectly. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emily
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I always use this recipe as a base for my chicken pot pie! I make homemade whole wheat crusts and substitute whole wheat flour for the white flour in the pie recipe. I also increase the chicken broth to about 2C and the milk to 1C. I add some garlic while sautéing the onions. The recipe fits perfectly into 6 mini oval Fiestaware casserole dishes. It's delicious and so worth making homemade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I love this recipe. I just made it last night and have eaten the leftovers for lunch too! I followed the suggestions left by other reviewers and boiled the chicken and veggies in the chicken broth and I add about 1/2 c water, enough to fully cover in liquid. When I make the roux for the gravy I also add about 2 cloves of minced garlic. The next time I make this I'm going to try mixing the chicken & veggies with the gravy then pour in the pie shell rather than doing it separately. I feel it doesn't incorporate as well as I'd like and I also make a mess doing it as written. LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
PERFECT! YUMMY! DELICIOUS! I have celiac disease and had been looking for a good pot pie that doesn't contain cream of chicken soup b/c that has gluten. This one fit the bill! I loved it. I took everyone's advice and doubled the liquid part. I omitted all things celery related b/c I hate celery and added some canned potatoes b/c I love that. I used a gluten free pie crust and the whole thing was amazing. Make this, you won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessika393

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I pre baked my bottom crust for 6 mins and added 1/4 c and 1/4 milk more than it called for. It made enough filling to fill both crusts so I made two pot pies and covered the tops with crescent dough omg was it good!!!!! I also used chicken stock instead of water to boil chicken and veg I then strained it and used that broth for the "gravy" it was very flavorful ,,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shelley
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This recipe is awesome my family lover it! I made a couple changes I omitted the peas and celery and added potatoes and a little broccoli. I made 4 individual pot pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This was really delicious. Using tips from other reviewers, I boiled diced fresh carrots, frozen peas and diced fresh potatoes in 2c. low salt/low fat chicken broth for about 10 mins. I then drained and saved the broth for inside the pie. I needed to add to it to get back to 1 3/4c. called for in the recipe. Sautéed the onions with celery in only 4T butter which worked fine in this recipe. I used 2c. leftover diced chicken. Added 1T. dried parsley instead of celery seed. I also only used a top crust. Baked at 375 degrees for 40 minutes. Scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 6,696) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States