Chicken Pot Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I don't understand how anyone can say this is bland. I LOVE this recipe. Of course, I do save the chicken stock made from boiling it with the veggies. And I add some bouillion to the mix, so maybe that adds enough flavor it keep it from being bland? I mean, if you tossed away that stock (heaven forbid!) and used some kind of crappy broth, then yeah--it'll be bland. But who would actually do that? :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Takiyah
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Delicious! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 19brad79
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Good stuff. I strayed from the instructions a little, but I definitely give the recipe credit. I used Grandma Ruth's pie crust recipe from this site ( at least I think that's it)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I made a few changes and it was amazing! I bought a grocery store rotisserie chicken and frozen mixed veggies which made this way faster. I also added real chicken broth. Make sure to not let your gravy get to thick so that it can seep through the pie filler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jennabeth
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This pie came out perfectly! I made it very close to as written, my only change being subbing out the celery for some green beans because that's what I had on hand and, instead of opening a container of broth, I used some of the water I had boiled the chicken and veggies in plus a bouillon cube. The amount of sauce worked out just right and pie was not at all dry - it was perfectly moist! The flavor was perfect too - a very classic "pot pie-y" pot pie! I used salted butter to make the roux, so that probably gave it a little extra oomph. Used the refrigerated "roll" type of pie crust, didn't bother pre-baking the bottom crust with egg, but I did poke a few tiny holes in it with my knife and it didn't turn out soggy at all. I wrapped foil around the edges of the pie until the last 6-7 minutes of baking to prevent brown crust. My honey and my sister the chef both agreed it was spot on. Thanks for the recipe - I'll make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
My family loves this. I did add potatoes and celery with the onions. Added carrots to broth instead of water so i did not have to drain.I doubled sauce. Added corn.I also put everything in a 9X13 pyrex and put crust on top. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by willnikki

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
As others recommended, I doubled the sauce. This was excellent! My husband states "This is the best thing you've ever made." And I do make lots of food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
If I could give it more stars I would. My husband doesn't like Chicken Pot Pie but he went back for seconds and by lunch the next day it was all gone! This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This recipe is easy and surprisingly good. I say surprisingly, because I don't believe pastry and meat should mix. Lol. I made it for my husband and children and decided to take a bite. It freezes well as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Hannah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,507) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States