Chicken Pot Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
The first time I made this I followed the recipe to the letter and thought it tasted great but was too dry. So I doubled the sauce, used a deep dish pie plate, reduced the temp to 375 & baked for 45 minutes. It was perfectly moist without being runny, and the pie shells were perfectly done. Absolutely fabulous! Goes without saying it is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7999 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
After reviewing several ratings I made some recommended changes. The first being I added more seasoning (garlic pepper, garlic powder, poultry seasoning) to the sauce and to the chicken mixture before cooking. Also, I cooked the chicken and veggies in chicken stock instead of water. My husband doesn't like celery so I used potato instead and also added some corn. I used Pillsbury ready made pie crusts (so easy..just open and unroll). And after brushing with egg white, baked the bottom crust for 5 minutes. I doubled the sauce and added most to the chicken mixture before putting it into the pan. I baked on 375 for 40 minutes. It looked and tasted delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars for the way it turned out after my modifications, without them I doubt it would have been as good. I took a lot of the previous suggestions, and I boiled my veggies in chicken broth (just added a boullion cube) although I didn't use peas (can't stand them) and just boneless, skinless breast meat. I used 3/4 cup of onion, and subbed 1/2 tsp garlic powder for celery seed (didn't have any). I drained the broth from the veggies, and used 2 cups in the pan, and after I added everything into the crust, I poured about another 1/4 cup of broth in with everything (as other reviewers complained it was too dry). Cooked for 30 min in a gas oven, and it came out perfect! Will definitely make again. edited to add: I also made this with 3 small, cubed potatoes, and it made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3503 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This was SO delicious, the best I have ever tasted. I made it with the "Butter Flaky Pie Crust" and it turned out perfectly flaky and wonderful. I pre-baked the bottom crust for 6 minutes, doubled the black pepper, added a tsp. of poultry seasoning and garlic salt and a diced potato. I added an extra 1/4 c each of milk and broth to combat any dryness. It turned out SPECTACULAR and was a huge hit with the family...they even ate it for breakfast. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1392 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I am not a "pot pie" fan but made this for my guy yesterday. Took the advice of others and used a rotisserie chicken, added poultry seasoning and garlic powder, etc. Also used frozen deep dish pie shells. Next time I will mix the filling and gravy together before putting it in the shell. I couldn't get the liquid to seep down through which caused the filling to be a bit too dry. I also think it needed a little bit more salt so will use garlic salt rather than powder next time. It was still pretty good considering my distaste for "pot pies". Definitely think mixing the filling with the liquid is the answer. Update: made this again but used frozen mixed veggies in addition to a cubed potato and the onion. Made extra gravy (about 1/2 more) and mixed with the filling before putting in the pie shell. Really helped the dryness. Yet another update: Made this again using phyllo puff pastry in ramekins and wow is it good! Perfect size for the grand kids who loved it! We also froze some and took to work for lunch - takes about 5-7 minutes in the microwave! Note: I always have L.B. Jamison's chicken soup base on hand and add a spoonful to chicken & noodles, chicken soup, this recipe and others. Really brings out the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROSNANFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
This was AMAZING! My family kept raving how good it was. Like others before me, I boiled the veggies and the chicken in the chicken broth. When the chicken was done I saute'd it in butter with garlic, onions, salt and pepper. I also added a can of cream of chicken soup because I needed more gravy. There was so much meat and veggies that I put it in a 9x13 pan and topped it with two pilsbury already made dough. I brushed the top of the dough with egg white and it came out so wonderful! What a recipe. I will be making this again and again. Update - I made this with left over roast from last nights meal and it was amazing. I used beef broth and also a jar of beef gravy so we'd have extra. My kids liked it better then the chicken pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1088 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKYSAN01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Bern, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
I've been making this for years now, and I've adjusted the recipe as follows: 1) I double the sauce recipe as others suggest, 2) I add in poultry seasoning, garlic powder, and chili powder to the sauce to taste, 3) I just use a 16oz package of frozen mixed veggies and a diced potato. I boil these in broth with the chicken, 4) After the sauce has thickened, I dump the chicken and veggies (after draining) into the saucepan and stir it all together before putting it in my pie. Doubling the sauce and adding extra veggies gives me a little leftover filling when I do a regular deep dish pie (I'm ok with this though, as I happily eat the filling on its own). However, usually I make 2 dozen mini pies in my muffin tin, cooking for 20 minutes. I love these mini pies because I'm constantly on the run and can eat them with one hand without a fork and knife!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
880 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Boil the chicken and veggies? For 15 minutes? And then throw the broth away? Then add canned broth? Really? Is that how to do it? I suggest sauteeing the chicken pieces, celery and onion together, adding the frozen veggies, add the broth, spices and mix the flour with a little water to add and thicken the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
872 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSIC_MINX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
This recipe was wonderful! It definately puts the frozen pot pies to shame. I only did one thing differently after reading others reviews saying that the bottom crust was soggy. I beat an egg white and brushed it on the bottom crust before putting in the filling. It worked great! I also brushed it on the top crust as well. It was SO delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
629 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This is five stars but you need to add 1/4tsp of garlic powder and 1/2 tsp of poultry seasoning like another reviewer suggested. This adds that missing flavor. Also I baked the bottom pie shell for 7 minutes and then added the filling. Overall yummy yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
465 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States